Results 1 to 8 of 8

Will a LT1 T-56 work with a LQ9/4 block???

This is a discussion on Will a LT1 T-56 work with a LQ9/4 block??? within the Manual Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; I have a Black 2 door 2000 s-10 Blaze with a 96 .040 over lt1 with ported and polished alum ...

  1. #1
    D_blaze D_blaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Black
    2000 S-10 Blazer

    Cool Will a LT1 T-56 work with a LQ9/4 block???

    I have a Black 2 door 2000 s-10 Blaze with a 96 .040 over lt1 with ported and polished alum heads with 2.02 1.60 oversized stanless valves, high lift double valvesprings, Steel 1.52 roller rockers with a 502 lift 274 dir @ .50 cam, port matched intake with a twin 58mm throttlebody. It has a T-56 sixspeed trans with a 8.6 rear with a eaton p-track and 4.11's.

    I am going to try and build a 500+RWHP lq9/4 to put in D_Blaze. And I need some advice to get that motor built and built right. I heard the is the place to go!!!

    I have a 96 t-56 six speed, does anyone know if it will work with a lq9/4 and what flywheel would i use??? Any info is helpful. Thanks Dan
    Hi. My name is Dan and I'm a RWHP addict.

  2. #2
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Nope,,,,bolt pattern is different on bellhousing/block,,,and the clutch setups are different as well.


    One is a push system and the other is a pull system. I believe you will need to hunt down a T-56 for an LS series engine,,,as well as a new clutch setup.

  3. #3
    D_blaze D_blaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Black
    2000 S-10 Blazer

    Nope,,,,bolt pattern is different on bellhousing/block,,,and the clutch setups are different as well.
    I was under the understanding that there was only one bolt hole that wouldn't line up with the LT1 bellhousing and LQ9/4 block. Is this true?? If this is so couldnt i drill and tap a new hole?? I heard about the input shaft being the thing that would be hard to make work but I talked to a local trans shop and they said they could put in a LS1 style input shaft in my LT1 trans. I kinda like the fork setup on the LT1 trans. Will the LT1 Flywheel bolt to the LQ9/4 crank??

    Thanks Dan

  4. #4
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    I don't believe the flywheels are interchangable.

    The bellhousing is more than 1 bolt different,,,,the LS engine has a series of bolts nearly all the way around, (9 bolts I believe if memory serves). The LT1 still mimics the old school gen 1 engine with 6 bolts.

    Yes you can change the input shaft,,,since it is different between LS1 and LT1,,,,as you have found,,,the clutch setup is different, (push verses pull) which requires a different input shaft.
    Changing it would require a near complete tear down of the trans. At that point you can simply swap out the LT1 bellhousing for an LS1 bellhousing,,,as they just bolt to the transmission case.

    I hope my memory has served me here,,,as I have been rebuilding muncies lately,,,been a while since I have been into a 6 speed.

  5. #5
    D_blaze D_blaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Black
    2000 S-10 Blazer

    Ok Thanks for the info I will do some more looking around and see what i can come up with.

  6. #6
    D_blaze D_blaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Black
    2000 S-10 Blazer

    Question T-56

    Anyone know where i can get a good cheep gen III t-56 bell housing?

  7. #7
    D_blaze D_blaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Age
    34
    Posts
    27

    Black
    2000 S-10 Blazer

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I don't believe the flywheels are interchangable.

    The bellhousing is more than 1 bolt different,,,,the LS engine has a series of bolts nearly all the way around, (9 bolts I believe if memory serves). The LT1 still mimics the old school gen 1 engine with 6 bolts.

    Yes you can change the input shaft,,,since it is different between LS1 and LT1,,,,as you have found,,,the clutch setup is different, (push verses pull) which requires a different input shaft.
    Changing it would require a near complete tear down of the trans. At that point you can simply swap out the LT1 bellhousing for an LS1 bellhousing,,,as they just bolt to the transmission case.
    So I think I would HAVE to use the new style clutch with the new bellhousing. Will that work with the front of the old t-56? Does the new slave run on the input shaft or against the trans??? Is the clutch, bellhousing, and input shaft the only differances between the LT1 and LS T-56's??

    Thanks for all your help.

  8. #8
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by D_blaze View Post
    So I think I would HAVE to use the new style clutch with the new bellhousing. Will that work with the front of the old t-56? Does the new slave run on the input shaft or against the trans??? Is the clutch, bellhousing, and input shaft the only differances between the LT1 and LS T-56's??

    Thanks for all your help.
    I believe the clutch, bellhousing, and input shaft are the only differences. Of course you will need the fork/throwout bearing and slave cylinder setup as well I think.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: short block vs long block
    By fbodyNATION in forum External Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2011, 08:25 PM
  2. Chevy Small-Block, Big-Block & Transmission Buildi
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2009, 02:50 PM
  3. Question: Can 317 heads work with a 346 block?
    By SVG210 in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 07:17 PM
  4. block work needed on 402 stroker??
    By zittmanracing in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 08:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •