Will any t56 transmission work

2001 ws6 ls1 with ls6 conversion. Searching on ebay for a new t56 trans I see alot them. will any of the t56 transmissions work?

You answer in LS1Tech post

silver
    97 thunderbird

hey, noob here.

i think this is the exact post i was looking to create. i am doing a custom project and need a tranny out of 98-02 f-body. i need it because it has the shifter back in the furthest position. i think it is maybe an inch and a half futrher back than the LT-1 trannies. i will be useing an aftermarket bellhousing, so are the ls-1 and lt-1 trannirs exactly the same. the most critical dimention i am looking at is the distance the shifter is fron the bellhouseing.

what post are you refering to in the tech section 30thbird? i thought this was the tech section?

He had duplicate posts. If the LS1 shifter position is critical, get the LS1 box. Conversion of anLT1 box is possible but $$. Be sure you get the LS1 version of the bell as well.

silver
    97 thunderbird

does anyone have any measurements from bellhouseing/transmission face to shifter location on lls-1 lt-1 t-56 transmissions

The rear face of block to the shifter stub ( in neutral) is 730.6mm. The bell is124mm long.for the LT1.
    For the LS1 the RFB dim. is 746.5mm and the bell is 140mm.
    If shifter position is a critical feature, you may want to look at a Mustang T56.
    Last edited by 30thbird; 04-19-2006 at 05:00 AM.

silver
    97 thunderbird

funny you should say so. talking shifter length, the ls-1 transmission is less then 2 inches shorter that m5r2, the transmission in the 5 speed super coupe. this tranny is closely related to the one in the f-150. these transmission are a good 4-6 inches longer than the mustang transmission. the shifter on the mustang transmission will come up somewhere in the middle of my radio.
    Last edited by BLUNDERBIRD; 04-27-2006 at 01:09 PM.