Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Transmission mount

This is a discussion on Transmission mount within the Manual Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Originally Posted by Wesman Not bad at all. I honestly noticed very little difference, I have the Energy Suspension poly ...

  1. #21
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesman View Post
    Not bad at all. I honestly noticed very little difference, I have the Energy Suspension poly mount.

    It really stiffens it up nicely, nothing like having the shifter jumping side to side or up and down when you're trying to shift!! With the poly mount it is stiff as hell, the trans moves very little regardless of how hard you're running it.

    I also installed poly motor mounts when I did my headers, definitely worth it. The vibrations are not very noticeable, doesn't bother me at all in daily driving, highway or city.
    X2! I don't even notice it.

  2. #22
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    Quote Originally Posted by TransAm11973 View Post
    dont buy prothane they are pieces of shit. GET AN ENERGY SUSPENSION MOUNT.......dont use the preload plate, and grind down the 2 humps on the top ( you willl understand when you get it) grind the humps down so they are level with the rest of the mount, then install. you will never have to worry about it again. If you decide you want a stock one let me know. I have a brand new one i got , never used, b/c i went with the ES one instead.
    Prothane engine and tranny mounts here and 530 hp and still no problems.

  3. #23
    Member fast enough Z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Rowlett,Tx.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    659

    silver
    98 camaro z28 m6

    I also have an energy mount and you can get it in stock at auto zone for like 20 bucks. No vibration for me

  4. #24
    Member cuzimoto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newport Beach
    Posts
    407

    Black
    99 Formula

    i bought universal poly mount for th350 from jegs for like $12. 300 passes plus at track holding up great no vibration an no slop in shifter, hence no mis shifts.

  5. #25
    Something Diabolical... chuckie669's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    2,677
    2000 C5 Torch Red

    How hard are they to replace? I honestly don't think I've ever looked for mine before, but I do have a popping sound when shifting from time to time.

  6. #26
    Member crazy dave ls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    172

    red
    2002 z/28

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckie669 View Post
    How hard are they to replace? I honestly don't think I've ever looked for mine before, but I do have a popping sound when shifting from time to time.
    its not that hard you just have to be able to get under the car,a floor jack helps also

  7. #27
    Senior Member TransAm11973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in my Trans Am
    Posts
    2,630

    Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

    absolutely use a floor jack............you must support the transmission when you drop the support crossmember, if you dont you are asking for problems...

  8. #28
    Member One_Bad_TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Age
    37
    Posts
    480

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

    anyone got tips on the install for a new one?

  9. #29
    Senior Member TransAm11973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in my Trans Am
    Posts
    2,630

    Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

    go to www.installuniversity.com and look up transmission mount replacement. it has good pics to describes what you are doing. if you have any other questions just ask...

  10. #30
    Junior Member lilpb1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Long Beach, Cali
    Age
    31
    Posts
    47

    Silver
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by One_Bad_TA View Post
    I have a 2000 TA M6 and when i step on the accelerator my shifter raises up in the console, you can also feel a little vibration in the car. I believe i have it narrowed down to the transmission mount. I was just wondering where i should get one and what kind? My car is stock as well with 106k on the clock
    Had the same problem and just replaced it with an GM. I've read that all the others have vibration or fitment issues.

  11. #31
    Member One_Bad_TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Age
    37
    Posts
    480

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by lilpb1 View Post
    Had the same problem and just replaced it with an GM. I've read that all the others have vibration or fitment issues.
    How much was the GM mount? and did u go through a dealership to get one?

  12. #32
    Senior Member TransAm11973's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in my Trans Am
    Posts
    2,630

    Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

    if u want a GM mount i have a brand new stock one i never used......pm me

  13. #33
    Junior Member lilpb1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Long Beach, Cali
    Age
    31
    Posts
    47

    Silver
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by One_Bad_TA View Post
    How much was the GM mount? and did u go through a dealership to get one?
    Came with the car when i bought it. The previous owner worked at a GM dealer.

  14. #34
    Member One_Bad_TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Age
    37
    Posts
    480

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

    Ok i got the energy suspension mount. When installing i should not use the plate that comes with it...and on the bottom of it i see the two little bumps i was just wonderin why i should grind those down? And why not to use the plate?

  15. #35
    2004 HEAD/CAM CTS-V 9t8z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    doylestown, Pa
    Posts
    6,818

    SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

    I did not use the Energy Suspension mount but if it is thick enough, it could throw off the geometry of the driveshaft angle, but I doubt it is that thick.

  16. #36
    Member One_Bad_TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Age
    37
    Posts
    480

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS.6

    Well i got the energy mount installed. Actually it was pretty easy. I didnt use the plate that it came with but removal and installation was easy. The only problem i had was getting the hole for the mount to line up with the bracket which is under the transmission that the bolt goes through. But all you have to do is shift the tranny over just slightly and everything goes back together easily. Thanks for everyones help!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. transmission mount
    By V8MUSCLE in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 06:14 PM
  2. Transmission mount
    By steven strickland in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-04-2008, 12:26 PM
  3. Transmission Mount
    By steven strickland in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-24-2008, 03:24 PM
  4. Transmission mount?????
    By Anwazi in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 06:08 AM
  5. How do you tell if a transmission mount is bad?
    By Rhinohuey in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2007, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •