Results 1 to 9 of 9

removing the slave on a t56

This is a discussion on removing the slave on a t56 within the Manual Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; I require some help. I am trying to remove the slave from a t56 gearbox which is out of a ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    10

    red
    04 Monaro CV8

    removing the slave on a t56

    I require some help.

    I am trying to remove the slave from a t56 gearbox which is out of a vauxhall monaro (gto).

    I have removed the front bearing(?) and spring, removed the two bolts from the slave but the slave wont budge.

    Is there a trick to removing the slave?

    heres a picture

    http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/t...20on%20a%20t56

    thankyou

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    10

    red
    04 Monaro CV8

    Ok im still struggling.

    Is it possible to strip a t56 with the slave in place?

    I would have thought that you would need to remove it first.

    Thankyou

  3. #3
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    It must just be stuck to the front plate.

    Those 2 screws you removed are the only things that hold it in place. Once those are out, it should come right off.

    Try trapping it with a hammer to break it loose.

    I assume you are going to replace it with a new one correct?? Golden rule is never reinstall an old slave, 9/10 times it will leak or blow out!!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    10

    red
    04 Monaro CV8

    i was planning on reusing it but i will buy an fbody slave and switch the fittings.

    i have tapped it with a rubber mallet, but its still stuck.

    Would a soft piece of aluminum used as a drift be a good idea, just trying to get to the rear?

    If i remove the casing bolts and tap the casing from the rear would this help to push it out?

  5. #5
    Member marksls1ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    pikeville, kentucky
    Posts
    701

    black
    1998 trans am

    try putting some WD 40 on it for a few moments then tap it lightly.

    Thanks,
    Mark

    KYSpeed.com | FREE SHIPPING & HANDLING | PRICE MATCH | EMAIL

    Kook's | American Racing Headers | Vararam | HallTech | Textralia | SPEC | McLeod | Raptor | Trick Flow | AFR | ECS
    | FAST | APS | TTi | Procharger | RPM Transmission | Comp | DMH | HP Tuners | PFADT | SLP | STS

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    10

    red
    04 Monaro CV8

    Quote Originally Posted by marksls1ta View Post
    try putting some WD 40 on it for a few moments then tap it lightly.

    Thanks,
    Mark
    ok i will apply some WD40 and have something to eat, give it some time to soak

  7. #7
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by gsd2000 View Post
    i was planning on reusing it but i will buy an fbody slave and switch the fittings.

    i have tapped it with a rubber mallet, but its still stuck.

    Would a soft piece of aluminum used as a drift be a good idea, just trying to get to the rear?

    If i remove the casing bolts and tap the casing from the rear would this help to push it out?
    No, because just slides over the input shaft and bolts to the front plate, pushing from behind will do nothing.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    10

    red
    04 Monaro CV8

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesman View Post
    No, because just slides over the input shaft and bolts to the front plate, pushing from behind will do nothing.
    ok thanks for the advice eveyone, some wd40 left to soak for a few hours, then a few light taps with a rubber mallet did the trick. Can't believe i didnt think of this before.

    Is it essential to change the slave, when doing a t56 rebuild and fitting a nice new pretty ACT twin plate clutch

  9. #9
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by gsd2000 View Post
    ok thanks for the advice eveyone, some wd40 left to soak for a few hours, then a few light taps with a rubber mallet did the trick. Can't believe i didnt think of this before.

    Is it essential to change the slave, when doing a t56 rebuild and fitting a nice new pretty ACT twin plate clutch
    Its not essential, but I think it would be foolish not to do it while you're in there.

    You could get lucky and have the slave last another 50K, or it could start leaking/blow out on the first startup. To me, and most others, its just not worth taking the chance for the $75 cost of a new slave.

    There's nothing worse than doing a big job and then having to do it all over again because of a faulty or worn out part.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. slave cylinders
    By steve00ss in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-20-2012, 06:30 AM
  2. Help: Bad slave?
    By yellowv in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:19 PM
  3. Anyone with new GM slave? Help!
    By Speed_kills_WS6 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 09:26 PM
  4. Slave cyl
    By 2000dreambird in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-13-2010, 08:17 AM
  5. Master/Slave
    By bww3588 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •