Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

M6 guys, your tachs are wrong and you need this!

This is a discussion on M6 guys, your tachs are wrong and you need this! within the Manual Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; LED SHIFT LIGHTS $55 That's right, just $55. No pills or modules; adjustable in 100 RPM increments, and they work ...

  1. #1
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    M6 guys, your tachs are wrong and you need this!

    LED SHIFT LIGHTS $55


    That's right, just $55. No pills or modules; adjustable in 100 RPM increments, and they work on 4,6,8 cyl and most any ignition system.

    1" x 3" long

    More information and pictures can be found here:
    http://www.tunedbyfrost.com/products_he01.htm


  2. #2
    BANGIN GEARS>STAB N STEER BLK2KSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville FL
    Age
    34
    Posts
    855

    TRIPLE BLACK
    2000 CAMARO SS M6 #2100

    hmm I might have to pick one of these up

  3. #3
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I have red and blue LEDs now; amber are on the way.

    Thanks for reading!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    why are our tachs wrong?

  5. #5
    Member devildogws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Monticello MN
    Posts
    683

    Black
    2000 trans am ws6

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunatikgixxer View Post
    why are our tachs wrong?
    to help sell the lights hahaha good tactic


    Good luck with the sales op

  6. #6
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunatikgixxer View Post
    why are our tachs wrong?
    If the car isn't stock (and sometimes even if it is) the tach usually lags behind at the end of first gear, which is where you need it most.

    Many of you also decided to swap gauge overlays, that pretty much permanently hoses things as well. It might be close, but it won't ever be dead on.

  7. #7
    Junior Member Brads_BadZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cedar Hill,TX
    Posts
    14

    Black
    2002 Camaro Z28

    It is very true. I never realized it until i got my shift light. You can still use your stock tach but at the track or when your racing that new mustang during hard acceleration the needle just doesnt keep up meaning you are going to hit your rev limiter when you should be shifting and lose time. Therefore you really only need this shift light. A new tach is overkill since the stock one is at least close to accurate. It really doesnt matter if your car is stock or not. I have a blue one just like this one and i love it! I wish i would have waited i could have saved some money for this one.

  8. #8
    BANGIN GEARS>STAB N STEER BLK2KSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville FL
    Age
    34
    Posts
    855

    TRIPLE BLACK
    2000 CAMARO SS M6 #2100

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    If the car isn't stock (and sometimes even if it is) the tach usually lags behind at the end of first gear, which is where you need it most.

    Many of you also decided to swap gauge overlays, that pretty much permanently hoses things as well. It might be close, but it won't ever be dead on.

  9. #9
    Member Camaro69Mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Agawam Mass
    Posts
    334

    Black
    69 Camaro, 99 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Brads_BadZ View Post
    It is very true. I never realized it until i got my shift light. You can still use your stock tach but at the track or when your racing that new mustang during hard acceleration the needle just doesnt keep up meaning you are going to hit your rev limiter when you should be shifting and lose time. Therefore you really only need this shift light. A new tach is overkill since the stock one is at least close to accurate. It really doesnt matter if your car is stock or not. I have a blue one just like this one and i love it! I wish i would have waited i could have saved some money for this one.
    That just happened to me at the track Saturday it was weiid because I've never hit the limiter before so it caught me by surprise. I guess that's one way to prove there's more power

  10. #10
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    well if thats the case then i might need one of these sooner or later

  11. #11
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    ttt...

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    129
    2000 Trans Am



    I bought one of these a few months back and was pretty surprised just how far off the tach was.

    If you click on the pic, its part of a write up that shows how I put it in. Maybe not the easiest way (?) but it works and looks great.

  13. #13
    Member jakez28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    126

    Sebring Silver
    1998 Chevy Camaro Z28

    how much is shipping to Cali

  14. #14
    Member zmg00camaross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    764

    pewter
    2000 camaro ss

    Who makes this light. (Brand) and shipping to MO 65041

  15. #15
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by zmg00camaross View Post
    Who makes this light. (Brand) and shipping to MO 65041
    If you just click the link you will get the info...

  16. #16
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Hey Steve, are these small enough to hide behind the A/C vents??

  17. #17
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    Hey Steve, are these small enough to hide behind the A/C vents??
    im not steve..but i dont see why not...a good location with a little bit of modding would be the little vents on the pillars..to stick one in

  18. #18
    What Would Earl Do? Vexzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Kirby, TX
    Posts
    230

    Fire
    2002 SS

    I'm interested but would like to know a little more. I clicked on the link, saw the device & watched the video, but...
    How does this connect electrically? Says it works on 4/6/8 cyl. Inductive? Connect to coil? PCM? How long is the lead?
    Thanks for posting.

  19. #19
    Member zmg00camaross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    764

    pewter
    2000 camaro ss

    well i probly buy one, just low on funds right now, Have the LSX shootout this weekend and probly will get expensive like normal haha.

  20. #20
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    Hey Steve, are these small enough to hide behind the A/C vents??
    Some guys put them in the A/C ducts!

    Quote Originally Posted by Vexzer View Post
    I'm interested but would like to know a little more. I clicked on the link, saw the device & watched the video, but...
    How does this connect electrically? Says it works on 4/6/8 cyl. Inductive? Connect to coil? PCM? How long is the lead?
    Thanks for posting.
    The lead to the PCM's tach wire will need length added. Other than that, Ign switched power and ground. It's not inductive; the input is very high Z to prevent loading and it can be connected in several different fashions/points.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rev Counters - 7 Tachs Under $100
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 08:40 AM
  2. Wrong Place Wrong Time
    By Fearls1 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 07:26 AM
  3. Do you guys think it's wrong to buy imports?
    By Murder after Midnight in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 11:45 AM
  4. LS1 Guys are on Defense Mustang Guys on Offense
    By Sarge in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 09:09 AM
  5. tachs
    By cobra12345 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 03:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •