Results 1 to 9 of 9

Do I need a new slave cylinder???

This is a discussion on Do I need a new slave cylinder??? within the Manual Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; I just did the drill mod and installed a new Master cylinder. I bench bled and installed the new master ...

  1. #1
    Grilled Cheese rocks!!!!! slo4mula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    412

    GM Bright Red
    2000 Formula

    Do I need a new slave cylinder???

    I just did the drill mod and installed a new Master cylinder. I bench bled and installed the new master and it worked for 2 days. Today, the pedal once again lost all pressure. When I hook up the mityvac to the master reservoir it will not hold any pressure. I have tried traditional bleeding and no matter how much I pump the pedal, no pressure will build up.

    Am I correct in saying the since the mityvac won't hold any pressure that there is a leak in my hydraulics???? I really wish this wasn't my daily driver....

  2. #2
    Grilled Cheese rocks!!!!! slo4mula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    412

    GM Bright Red
    2000 Formula

    So, I am replacing the slave cylinder and all was going well. I have the driveshaft out, the torque arm off, all sensors disconnected from the tranny. I have 6 of the 8 bolts out of the gearbox. HOW THE HELL DO I GET THE TOP 2 BOLTS!!!!! I've tried lowering the transmission as much as I can, I just can't get to them. Please help me!!! I have to finish this tomorrow at 1pm.

    Any help is very much appreciated.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Age
    39
    Posts
    6

    White
    2001 Formula

    If I am reading this correctly, you are asking how to get the top bolts on the transmission. Its been a year or so but I will tell you what I can. You need about two feet in extensions. You will use the ratchet all the way down on the other end of the trans. I had a partner that would make sure the socket was on the bolt and then when it was secure I would start turning. You may need a swivel right before the socket. There are several posts about this if you look hard. But trust me, you need a couple feet of extensions and a helper would be a huge advantage.

  4. #4
    Member bealschad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    somerset PA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    270

    black
    1998 ws6 trans am

    Are you unbolting it were the bell housing meets the motor??????

  5. #5
    Grilled Cheese rocks!!!!! slo4mula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    412

    GM Bright Red
    2000 Formula

    sweet!! I just read that somewhere else also. Unfortunately it is dark and now its a job for.... "TOMORROW MAN!!!...sorry...

    Everything was going really well, which naturally made me nervous. There was no way I was going to get this job done in a reasonable time frame.

    Maybe I should do an oil change as long as the car is in the air I haven't screwed an oil change up ever.

  6. #6
    Grilled Cheese rocks!!!!! slo4mula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    412

    GM Bright Red
    2000 Formula

    Quote Originally Posted by bealschad View Post
    Are you unbolting it were the bell housing meets the motor??????
    nope. I'm unbolting it where the gearbox meets the bellhousing.

  7. #7
    Member bealschad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    somerset PA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    270

    black
    1998 ws6 trans am

    Ok I just did a tranny swap from auto to 6speed and i had to learn it the hard way so ya anyways from the gear box is the only way to do it ezey. Good luck with the slave thay are a son of a bitch to plug back in be patient it took me 30 min.

  8. #8
    Grilled Cheese rocks!!!!! slo4mula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    412

    GM Bright Red
    2000 Formula

    So, I got all 8 bolts out of the transmission. Every write up says that the transmission should "slide backward without too much fuss." Is this total bullshit or am I just incredibly unlucky? This is one of the worst projects I have ever taken on, AND I'M ONLY REPLACING THE SLAVE, not the clutch. This sucks. Anyone else have problems getting the gearbox off the bellhousing??

  9. #9
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    lmao the thread was called "do i need a new slave..." on the main page, couldnt help but laugh

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mastery Cylinder or Slave cylinder problem?
    By chris5 in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2012, 10:59 PM
  2. T56 Slave cylinder
    By Baenzi in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 04:59 AM
  3. c5 slave cylinder
    By 99-SS-Conv in forum Corvette
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2008, 12:21 AM
  4. Which slave cylinder to buy?
    By MnLS1 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 01:30 PM
  5. Which slave cylinder
    By pet_monk in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2005, 04:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •