2002 Trans Am

clutch play/loose

Sorry, but I'm not a mechanic....please bear with me...

It seems as though my clutch only engages during the last 1/3 of a depression. It's kinda 'squishy'. Is this normal? I noticed it at about 6200rpm in third gear the other day.

Do clutches require 'adjustments'?

Thanks.

SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

Hydraulic clutches, like our cars use, are self-adjusting.

However, if the pedal feels squishy or engagement does not feel normal, it may need to be bled.

Old/contaminated fluid or air in the system can wreak havoc on clutch operation.

2002 Trans Am

Well, I've got an update to my clutch issue.

This may be nothing more than a learning experience for me. As in, I don't know the 'normal' behavior of how a clutch should perform when pushing 6k+ rpms.

I drove it 2nd gear 60mph @ ~5500rpm then shifted to 3rd. Then I felt the clutch only release back out MAYBE 1/3 of the way. Yep, it was like it was stuck 2/3rds down. It still functioned as I shifted to 4th but it still was like stuck almost on the floor. I then pulled off, turned around and went back home. It functioned but just didn't release all the way. I'm thinking this isn't 'normal' behavior.

The car cooled down and all then all was normal.

Can anyone please enlighten me on how it should or should not perform?
    What should my expectations be?

Thanks.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

How many miles are on the current clutch?

Has it ever been service?

2002 Trans Am

Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    How many miles are on the current clutch?

Has it ever been service?
    Sorry. I wish I knew the answer. I'm trying to get it into a place my buddy takes his vettes to. They will definitely tell me what should be done.

Navy Blue Metallic

Quote Originally Posted by Exitstageleft View Post
    Sorry. I wish I knew the answer. I'm trying to get it into a place my buddy takes his vettes to. They will definitely tell me what should be done.