Results 1 to 10 of 10

Yank 3200 is locking to early in the rpms

This is a discussion on Yank 3200 is locking to early in the rpms within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; hey I just put a yank 3200 converter on my ws6 with 3.73s and the converter is locking up at ...

  1. #1
    Member freaky57fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    236

    Black
    2002 WS6 A4, 2010 ram

    Yank 3200 is locking to early in the rpms

    hey I just put a yank 3200 converter on my ws6 with 3.73s and the converter is locking up at around 2600. is there an issue in my tuning or should I get a hold of yank to see if the converter is messed up? anyone else have an issue like this before the car was fully tuned?

  2. #2
    Former Mopar Man 2002ssslp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Branchville, NJ
    Posts
    3,111

    Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

    Do the right thing and call Yank. They built it so they should know how to fix the problem. JMO
    My ride is a 2002 Camaro SS SLP #3296 with 30k, LTH, 3" Y, CME, Frost tune, K&N, ported TB, Blackwing lid, Bellows, MSD, Denso Iridium, and 85mm MAF, Bilsteins, Eibach springs, SLP strut brace, Adj. Panhard, TA Girdle, UMI, Pro 5.0, Nitto NT555
    My wife has a 2004 GTO with the rare SAP, 18" wheels, K&N Cold Air System, MSD, Ported TB, Frost tune, Denso Iridium, Flowmaster cat-back, 3200 Yank, 75k

  3. #3
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Still running a stock tune or more specifically....stock converter lockup tables?

    I ask because as far as I know, that converter will only lock when the computer tells it to, and is directly related to throttle angle and speed (not rpm per say)

    A stock tune at light throttle can command a converter to lock as early as 32-34 mph once the trans is in high gear, so that's not unusual. Works just fine that way if you still run a stock camshaft.

    Only time converter locking may need to be tweaked in the tune is with larger camshafts to prevent surging.

    For example, I prefered the stock lockup tables in my tune when I was running a stock camshaft. I don't need the converter flashing up to 3500 rpms at 40+ mph when I'm just trying to moderately excellerate, that just eats gas and creates more tranny heat that is unnecessary. The sooner it locked the better when I was just putting around town. I still got 20 mpg city driving this way.
    Last edited by Firebirdjones; 07-22-2014 at 05:39 AM.

  4. #4
    Member freaky57fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    236

    Black
    2002 WS6 A4, 2010 ram

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    Still running a stock tune or more specifically....stock converter lockup tables?

    I ask because as far as I know, that converter will only lock when the computer tells it to, and is directly related to throttle angle and speed (not rpm per say)

    A stock tune at light throttle can command a converter to lock as early as 32-34 mph once the trans is in high gear, so that's not unusual. Works just fine that way if you still run a stock camshaft.

    Only time converter locking may need to be tweaked in the tune is with larger camshafts to prevent surging.

    For example, I prefered the stock lockup tables in my tune when I was running a stock camshaft. I don't need the converter flashing up to 3500 rpms at 40+ mph when I'm just trying to moderately excellerate, that just eats gas and creates more tranny heat that is unnecessary. The sooner it locked the better when I was just putting around town. I still got 20 mpg city driving this way.
    Excellent sir you just answer my question the tables haven't been messed with yet test and tune is Sunday I didn't think the computer tells it when to lock. I'm a dumb ass.

  5. #5
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by freaky57fast View Post
    Excellent sir you just answer my question the tables haven't been messed with yet test and tune is Sunday I didn't think the computer tells it when to lock. I'm a dumb ass.
    Not at all. What you have there is normal with a stock tune while driving around at part throttle. It won't affect you at all under WOT conditions. Enjoy that test and tune session

  6. #6
    Member freaky57fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    236

    Black
    2002 WS6 A4, 2010 ram

    Got with my tuner. He fixed part of the issue. Car still breaks the tires loose at a stand still around 2000rpms am I missing something? I have big sticky nittos is the converter too tight?

  7. #7
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    What's wrong with breaking the tires loose? Is there something specific you are looking for or trying to do?

    Nitto's aren't the stickiest tire out there, but they do last longer (mileage) than most other drag radials on the market. I could never 60 foot as well on them as I did on BFG drag radials, and even better on MT's. Depends on what you want out of a tire.

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I thought that's what you were describing.......brake stall and not lock up speed.


    See if this helps....taken from Yank's site.

    3. Flash stall is the maximum your engine's torque can stall a torque converter. In essence flash stall and full stall are nearly identical. If you had a transbrake, you could find full stall by putting your foot to the floor and reading your tach. For argument sake, let's say we're testing a 3500 stall Yank ST 3500. If you had a transbrake, you would see around 3500 rpms. If your motor was at idle and then you suddenly floored the throttle, you might see slightly more (maybe 100 rpm more) stall for a half second as the momentum of the motor's internals "flashed" the converter a small bit above its true stall rating. Brake stall, on the other hand is a very subjective thing. For most, it's the highest stall you can achieve before your tires spin. This varies greatly based on many factors: Traction, gearing, brake clamping force, and engine torque. With a ST3500, I may only be able to get 2200rpm "brake stall" on the street with street tires...any higher rpm and the motor torque would overwhelm the tires. But if I was at the track with racing slicks on the starting line, I might be able to get 3200 brake stall before the motor torque overwhelmed the tires. See...brake stall is very subjective. Yank rates their converters based on their intended application. A ST 3500 will stall 3500 rpms in a stock LS1. If you had a 422 and wanted a ST 3500, the converter you received would still stall 3500 because it would be built around the torque of a 422, not a stock displacement LS1. Yank checks the stall of their converters and their competitors by using either a trasmission dyno or a "tranny tricker" in the vehicle tested. With the tranny tricker, you can place the vehicle in 2nd or 3rd gear and stab the throttle to the floor...making it easy to read both flash stall and full stall.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    ^^ Good info.

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    at the track on drag radials I can only get my fuddle to stall to about 2200-2300 before it starts trying to push through the brakes. I might be able to push it a little further but have never really tried for fear of pushing through the light or breaking the tires loose so I just get it to that point where it wants to start pushing and launch from there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. flywheel locking
    By ls1wallen in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 03:07 PM
  2. how to get locking lug nuts off
    By red99ws6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-28-2007, 01:02 PM
  3. WTB: Yank 3200 Stall
    By CWW17 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 11:18 PM
  4. Locking or Non-Locking TC?
    By Wulfe13 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 01:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •