Results 1 to 6 of 6

Tranny question

This is a discussion on Tranny question within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; I wanted to know do I have to change the flexplate on a LS1 to bolt up a th400 tranny?...

  1. #1
    Junior Member scooterboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    florida
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4

    blue
    84 Olds Cutlass

    Lightbulb Tranny question

    I wanted to know do I have to change the flexplate on a LS1 to bolt up a th400 tranny?

  2. #2
    Member lrader99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    397

    flat black
    why would you want to bolt it up to a TH400?

  3. #3
    Junior Member scooterboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    florida
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4

    blue
    84 Olds Cutlass

    Quote Originally Posted by lrader99
    why would you want to bolt it up to a TH400?
    The LS1 is getting carb'd put the tranny is for holding power.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    wisconsin
    Age
    44
    Posts
    52
    i just put a carbed ls1 into a s10 with a turbo 350 trans, you have to use an adapter for the crankshaft hub to work with the 350/400 style converters, and the flex plate on the ls1 does not have the correct bolt pattern for the old style converters but you can oval out the holes with a dremel or die grinder

    the crankshaft adapter is made by hughes here is a link:

    sorry i cant post links yet, just enter in hughes trans adapter in yahoo search and click on the summit racing page, its only $44 from them
    Last edited by jay_lt4; 02-13-2006 at 07:28 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member scooterboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    florida
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4

    blue
    84 Olds Cutlass

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by jay_lt4
    i just put a carbed ls1 into a s10 with a turbo 350 trans, you have to use an adapter for the crankshaft hub to work with the 350/400 style converters, and the flex plate on the ls1 does not have the correct bolt pattern for the old style converters but you can oval out the holes with a dremel or die grinder

    the crankshaft adapter is made by hughes here is a link:

    sorry i cant post links yet, just enter in hughes trans adapter in yahoo search and click on the summit racing page, its only $44 from them
    How does your truck run with the LS1? I'm just starting to get everything together.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    wisconsin
    Age
    44
    Posts
    52
    its at the exhaust shop now, actually it is a 5.3 silverado engine with a ls1 hot cam and valve springs

    runs great, just drove it around the parking lot and then took it over to get exhaust done, should be ready by thursday

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tranny question.
    By Rob Mellinger in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2009, 06:04 PM
  2. Tranny question
    By Blksilvr in forum GTO
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 12:18 PM
  3. A question about the tranny
    By ledesma54 in forum GTO
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 06:05 PM
  4. Tranny question
    By JwMonE99 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 08:41 PM
  5. Question about tranny
    By shady1504 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2005, 04:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •