Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tranny fluid

White
    2001 RS Camaro

tranny fluid

Ok so I'm at 68,480 miles and I'm pretty sure it's due for a tranny flush. First off mine is a 3.8 and I've never done this before. What I'm worried about is A. finding metal shavings in the fluid and what all bad news that entails and B. is it gonna make the transmission slip after I've changed it since it's been so long. As of right now the tranny runs hard and smooth with no problems at all, is that a good sign as to how it will be after? Just new to doing this and being a college student I don't have the money to pay a mechanic and I need to learn this stuff anyways. Help/advice would be greatly welcome!

2001 3.8 Black - sold
    2000 SS Black M6

i think its recommended either at 50k or 75k, mine was acting up a few years ago, did i true flush at 120k I think. some places just drain and replace fluid, that doesnt do anything, a true flush cycles fluid though and cleans it out, takes several hours.

but anyway, mine was over 100k miles, and I think it helped. turns out my problem wasn't in my trans at all. but it didnt hurt

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Had mine done @ ~60~70k. Power flushed and a filter change. Had the trans reprogrammed a couple of years earlier. The flush had no effect.. Unless you have the equipment you won't be doing a flush on your own easily.. Better to take it somewhere you trust.. Finding metal shavings can mean a few things.. Most autos get some filings stuck to the pan magnet which is usually normal.. Big chunks, or larger pieces than just filings can be a sign of a problem internally. The transmission should'nt slip after a flush.. The PCM controls fluid presure to compensate for wear and to help prevent it. If it does'nt slip now it most likely wont after the flush. If it does then there was a problem soon to show itself anyways.. Better to find it before it stops moving..