Results 1 to 14 of 14

shift points too high

This is a discussion on shift points too high within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; man, dont know whats goin on. i never had my shft points changed from factory, but after my dyno tune, ...

  1. #1
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    shift points too high

    man, dont know whats goin on. i never had my shft points changed from factory, but after my dyno tune, and especially lately, when i have my car floored it shifts from 1-2 at 6200 rpm.


    my shift point is supposed to be 6000. even with the perform transmission button not pressed, its is supposed to shift at 5800, but shifts at 6200.


    what would be causing my car to shift so high? btw, its a 1995 trans am.

  2. #2
    Member stephen02ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dalzell, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    899

    red with black stripes
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    they might have changed the shift points when it was dyno tuned

  3. #3
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    i'll go back to my tuner then. they really do need to ,lower, its outta the powerband man.

  4. #4
    Member stephen02ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dalzell, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    899

    red with black stripes
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    the shift points are set a little after the peak power. my peak is at 6250 and it shifts at 6600, the power doesnt drop off that much after the peak, mine is cammed though. it all depends where your peak horsepower is and how much it drops off after that. you should have gotten a printout of the dyno readings. look and see about that. if it doesnt drop much after the peak to 6200 it might be alright. who was your tunner?

  5. #5
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    i have a lt1 remember, my top end flow isnt as good as a ls1.

    i have my dyno sheet,it peaks at 5700, but has a really nice curve, but you can definetly feel the car just laying over after 6000 rpm.

    I got my full dyno tune from Finish Line Performance

  6. #6
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    Have them drop it down. I think your running the same setup as me. stock LT1 a4 3.23 LPP lt & ORY with cat back? 5600 to 5800 cuz then your right back on the torque peak at shifts. 6200 is a bit much for the stock cam on an LT1. I think its done at 5800 with a tune.

  7. #7
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    i have 2.73's, but i am looking into changing them to 3.73's

    stock for me was 5800, but when i hit my perform transmission button, it raises line pressure and shift points go to 6000. i liked the 6000 rpm shift points a lil more, it doesnt bog into 2nd as much

  8. #8
    Member stephen02ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dalzell, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    899

    red with black stripes
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by LT1 > LS1 View Post
    i have a lt1 remember, my top end flow isnt as good as a ls1.

    i have my dyno sheet,it peaks at 5700, but has a really nice curve, but you can definetly feel the car just laying over after 6000 rpm.

    I got my full dyno tune from Finish Line Performance
    haha they did the oposite for me. i had FLP dyno tune for my cam and they didnt change any of the trans settings. it still shifted at 6000 rpm. i had speed inc. check the tune out and fix the settings. they raised the shift points from 6000 to 6600rpm. i would talk to FLP and see what they say or talk to Speed Inc.

  9. #9
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    i went to FLP. they said they didnt touch anything in the trans.

    so that means.....slipping.....DAMNIT!!!!!!!!!!!!


    part throttle the shifts feel very snappy and normal. today, i chirphed into 2nd at a little over half throttle on a 3800 rpm 1-2 shift.....and the car is NOT hitting rev limiter at wot on the 1-2.....so i dunno what it could be

  10. #10
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Well the band comes on at the 1-2 shift so maybe you should look into a bigger, beefier servo.

  11. #11
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    corvette servo, beast sun shell, some good clutches and steels. what else do i need to handle about 400whp?

  12. #12
    Member stephen02ws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dalzell, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    899

    red with black stripes
    2002 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by LT1 > LS1 View Post
    i went to FLP. they said they didnt touch anything in the trans.

    so that means.....slipping.....DAMNIT!!!!!!!!!!!!
    thats what they told me. they argued with me that you dont have to change any settings for a stall either.

  13. #13
    Member TOMASINO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    downers grove
    Posts
    206

    white
    2000

    Quote Originally Posted by LT1 > LS1 View Post
    man, dont know whats goin on. i never had my shft points changed from factory, but after my dyno tune, and especially lately, when i have my car floored it shifts from 1-2 at 6200 rpm.


    my shift point is supposed to be 6000. even with the perform transmission button not pressed, its is supposed to shift at 5800, but shifts at 6200.


    what would be causing my car to shift so high? btw, its a 1995 trans am.
    first check ur tps sensor thats only like 25 bucks!! to start if not then the tune

  14. #14
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    every time you do a power adder (stall, headers, cam, etc...) the engine revs quicker so the computer takes longer to see that the rpms and mph have been met to shift to the next gear.
    I have my 1-2 shift rpm set at 6,000 rpm to get it to shift by 6,400......2-3-4 shift points are set at 6,200 to get it to shift by 6,500 rpms......i also had to drop my shift mph down 5 mph

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. high shift points & high idle
    By Red 99 T/A in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 09:04 PM
  2. new shift points
    By ssmike in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 12:04 PM
  3. shift points?
    By clg82 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2007, 05:04 PM
  4. 323's to 373's shift points
    By Andy Lappin in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 01:36 PM
  5. What Shift Points Should I Use
    By MATTTRANS2000 in forum Drag Racing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 01:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •