Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

black
    1999 PONTIAC TRANS AM

Unhappy My new 99 trans am transmission problem..

Hi, Im a newbie to the Trans Am family and this site.. Happy to be here.. I been reading post off off here since before i ever bought a Fbody... I bought a beautiful blk 1999 a4 TA with 73k miles on it a few months ago.. It now has 79k & and my transmission started acting up a month ago.. 1st i noticed that it draged through the gears at full trottle.. Next it started slipping sometimes when if floored it,.. Now it drags through 1st and slips if i accelerate to hard in 2nd 3rd and 4th... Ive gone to three shops for estimmates.. The first didnt even look at the car and just told me tranny needs to be rebuilt $1,800 or replaced with used 1,400.. The next shop was Ammco the retards that work there gave me false hope.. Amcoo told me my fluid was just extremely low.. Amcoo said if they take the tranny fluid pan off and theres no metal flakes my car just needs a tranny service.. There was now metal in the pan so i had them do the service... The car ran somewhat better, but still like crap.. They said i will started to run better on its own and to put a tranny additive in... The opposite happens, It got worse.. I took it to the third shop and the said its slipping in 2nd 3rd ,4th.. And theyd have to rebuild it and it would be $2,300 to do it in a worse case senario, But could be less.. They said they could upgrade it also.. I already figured Since it has to come apart i might as well upgrade.. i read i could upgrade to 4l65e.. The shop guy recomened a torqe converter.. and or a stall??? Any info would be greatly appreciated.. on prices.. what may be wrong with my F'ed up tranny.. upgrade options.. Anything! Getting my bird flying again is my main priority.. Thanks

sold: 1999 firebird
    1998 Trans Am

yes you'll need a rebuild without a doubt.