Results 1 to 8 of 8

my A4 wont down shift. Why

This is a discussion on my A4 wont down shift. Why within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; hey guys just did a tb and intake swap to 101mm and i dont know if it has anything to ...

  1. #1
    Member mglangley21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    184

    Red
    1999 Camaro SS(LS6 Swap)

    my A4 wont down shift. Why

    hey guys just did a tb and intake swap to 101mm and i dont know if it has anything to do with it but my car wont down shift at any speed it just goes in whatever gear its in? what could be the cause? any help thx

  2. #2
    Former Mopar Man 2002ssslp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Branchville, NJ
    Posts
    3,111

    Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

    Check the cable going to the trans for downshifting

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Shifting is in part controlled by readings from the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS). Is this still hooked up and working properly after your swap?

  4. #4
    Member Redrokit8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Roseland NJ
    Posts
    285

    Pewter Silver
    2002 Trans AM WS6

    I think Keith and Jeff have it nailed. I would guess a cable not reconnected and not noticed.
    Just curious, can you shift it manually up or down?.
    Please post your findings.
    Magnaflow Quad Tip, Lid, SBellow
    UMI: FTC, FSB, RSB, LCA's, PBAR, SFC's, T-Arm w/relo, D/S Loop
    Kooks LTH, 3" YP, H/F Cats
    Custom Grind Cam, Stall, 3:73 rear
    Bilsteins w/Strano Springs Conti Super Contacts
    TuneByFrost MSD Wires
    Cross Drilled/Slotted Rotors w/Ceramic

  5. #5
    Member mglangley21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    184

    Red
    1999 Camaro SS(LS6 Swap)

    I need to check the cable from the. trans then but I have replaced 3tps and no change! I can shift it myself though

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    The 4L60E does not have a TVS cable -- the only cable runs from the shifter to the driver side of the transmission. If that cable is properly adjusted, you should be able to feel the detent for each gear. Do you have access to a scanner that you can see the TPS output on?

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    my guess is that your throttle cable needs adjusted (most likely) or you're throttle stop is set to shallow or deep(least likely)......you can either log it if you have access and see what % is showing when you go WOT, you can put a volt meter on it and see if you get ~4.65 volts WOT, or you can probably just look in there and have someone put the pedal on the floor and see if the blade is opening all the way. I'm betting with the new TB the cable needs adjusted to open the butterfly further.

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    The 4L60E does not have a TVS cable -- the only cable runs from the shifter to the driver side of the transmission. If that cable is properly adjusted, you should be able to feel the detent for each gear. Do you have access to a scanner that you can see the TPS output on?
    right....you can rule the tranny out of the equation pretty much.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wont shift!!!
    By tangkiller_z28 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 11:52 AM
  2. SHIFT HAPPENS...you wont believe this
    By 02cetransam in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 01:57 AM
  3. A4 wont shift
    By mysticZ in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-30-2006, 09:59 PM
  4. wont shift!!
    By z28jerad in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 06:35 PM
  5. wont shift from 2nd to 3rd @ wot
    By todd in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 06:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •