Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 77

Love the Yank :-)))))

This is a discussion on Love the Yank :-))))) within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Steve is absolutely right as always. If your computer isn't reading 100% TPS then the computer doesn't think you are ...

  1. #41
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Steve is absolutely right as always. If your computer isn't reading 100% TPS then the computer doesn't think you are at full throttle.

    You can easily check that with a scan tool, or you can pin the wires with a volt meter, turn the key on and have someone mat the throttle and see if it's reading 100% that way.

    Yes you can drive around in 3rd if you prefer, it doesn't hurt anything.

  2. #42
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    Steve is absolutely right as always. If your computer isn't reading 100% TPS then the computer doesn't think you are at full throttle.

    You can easily check that with a scan tool, or you can pin the wires with a volt meter, turn the key on and have someone mat the throttle and see if it's reading 100% that way.

    Yes you can drive around in 3rd if you prefer, it doesn't hurt anything.
    Yes He is a very technical for sure I bought the computer from him so I will get my mechanic to check it out this week in 3rd gear it works perfectly I might get Steve to take of the pmw to eliminate the chatter I just don't know how harsh that will be when shifting or how hard it will shift

  3. #43
    LSX whore allbaugh_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,895

    Pewter
    2000 Z28 Camaro

    I 2nd that, I drive in 3rd all the time.

  4. #44
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    Why

    Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    I 2nd that, I drive in 3rd all the time.
    Why do you drive it in 3rd all the time is it because of the slipping feeling you get in drive or just that it is more there when you want to hit the gas ????

  5. #45
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    I don't see a reason to unless you are having issues in 4th gear??? Shudder?? The converter is still programmed in the tune to lock in 3rd gear as well so you wouldn't be avoiding the converter lockup this way either.

    I just leave mine in overdrive and drive it everywhere like that, whether around town or not.

  6. #46
    LSX whore allbaugh_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,895

    Pewter
    2000 Z28 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    Why do you drive it in 3rd all the time is it because of the slipping feeling you get in drive or just that it is more there when you want to hit the gas ????
    This is from complete memory here, haven't driven my car in 6 months, but I believe it locks at 30mph in 3rd, and usually I am stopping and going in town a lot or cruising around 30-40mph in town cause of the speed limits. Usually if I put it in 4th it will go into lock up at 40mph and if I'm slowing down all the time it'll keep locking and unlocking. It's just a little easier to keep it in D (3rd) depending on how traffic is moving.
    Last edited by allbaugh_04; 04-12-2011 at 11:59 AM.

  7. #47
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    This is from complete memory here, haven't driven my car in 6 months, but I believe it locks at 30mph in 3rd, and usually I am stopping and going in town a lot or cruising around 30-40mph in town cause of the speed limits. Usually if I put it in 4th it will go into lock up at 40mph and if I'm slowing down all the time it'll keep locking and unlocking. It's just a little easier to keep it in D (3rd) depending on how traffic is moving.
    You are correct, it will lock earlier (lower mph) when in 3rd gear. I still use the stock MPH locking speeds on mine and in third the converter locks at around 26 mph and unlocks if I slow down below 24 mph. In overdrive it locks at 38 mph and unlocks if I slow down below 36 mph.
    So I can understand what you mean if you want to put around town in slow traffic of say,,,,30-35 mph or so. If you wish to keep the converter locked then 3rd gear is a good option.
    I just leave it in 4th anyway, at such light throttle positions driving that slow I'm not really driving into the converter all that much. I'm so used to driving loose converters in other cars that don't lock,,,so it just seems normal to me.

  8. #48
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    Exactly

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I don't see a reason to unless you are having issues in 4th gear??? Shudder?? The converter is still programmed in the tune to lock in 3rd gear as well so you wouldn't be avoiding the converter lockup this way either.

    I just leave mine in overdrive and drive it everywhere like that, whether around town or not.
    It is in 4th gear and it shudder's at 45 to 48mph that is my problem if I down shift it in 3rd it's perfect as soon as I hit 50mph I put it in d and it works great If I drive in D anything before 45mph is perfect anything after 50 mph perfect it's just that speed ans that's a popular speed limit around here if I'm in shudder mode lol I push the gas a little it downshifts and it's perfect It sounds like the clutches are rattling!!!!
    Last edited by Durango; 04-12-2011 at 03:39 PM.

  9. #49
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    ok

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    You are correct, it will lock earlier (lower mph) when in 3rd gear. I still use the stock MPH locking speeds on mine and in third the converter locks at around 26 mph and unlocks if I slow down below 24 mph. In overdrive it locks at 38 mph and unlocks if I slow down below 36 mph.
    So I can understand what you mean if you want to put around town in slow traffic of say,,,,30-35 mph or so. If you wish to keep the converter locked then 3rd gear is a good option.
    I just leave it in 4th anyway, at such light throttle positions driving that slow I'm not really driving into the converter all that much. I'm so used to driving loose converters in other cars that don't lock,,,so it just seems normal to me.
    I could live with it being loose it's the clutch rattling sound at 45-48mph that bugs me and is kinda makes me feel like a drive a car that everything rattles :-) but it has 34 000 miles and is new condition :-( I love my car but quiet except the exhaust and the odd T Top squeak lol

  10. #50
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    It is in 4th gear and it shudder's at 45 to 48mph that is my problem if I down shift it in 3rd it's perfect as soon as I hit 50mph I put it in d and it works great If I drive in D anything before 45mph is perfect anything after 50 mph perfect it's just that speed ans that's a popular speed limit around here if I'm in shudder mode lol I push the gas a little it downshifts and it's perfect It sounds like the clutches are rattling!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    I could live with it being loose it's the clutch rattling sound at 45-48mph that bugs me and is kinda makes me feel like a drive a car that everything rattles :-) but it has 34 000 miles and is new condition :-( I love my car but quiet except the exhaust and the odd T Top squeak lol
    In that case it sounds like you could play with the lockup speed in the tune and see if it cures it. Maybe bump it to 48-50 mph lockup speed in 4th and see if your problems go away.

  11. #51
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    Cool thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    In that case it sounds like you could play with the lockup speed in the tune and see if it cures it. Maybe bump it to 48-50 mph lockup speed in 4th and see if your problems go away.
    Steve just wants to take off the pmw or pwm "Dave at yank recommended it" and something at 100% I am getting use to the stall and really starting to love it I checked and it shifts at 5750rpm on the dot and My mechanic is going to check everything again Thursday

  12. #52
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    Steve just wants to take off the pmw or pwm "Dave at yank recommended it" and something at 100% I am getting use to the stall and really starting to love it I checked and it shifts at 5750rpm on the dot and My mechanic is going to check everything again Thursday
    I'm not good with abreviations so I have no idea what PMW or PWM is. But I'm sure Steve will set it straight.

  13. #53
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    PWM= Pulse Width Modulation

    Here's a long read but will explain PWM nicely and why they do it. They even use the 4l60e in the article.
    http://www.motor.com/magazine/pdfs/062006_07.pdf

    taken from the article:
    To enhance converter clutch engagement for improved fuel economy, a pulse width modulated (PWM) torque converter clutch (TCC) solenoid was added to the system in 1995 (Fig.2). This required a change in the pump assembly and valve body to accommodate the required hydraulics. (The acronym PWM is cast into the pump cover for easy identification.) With these changes, the PCM provides a duty cycle to this PWM solenoid, which in turn regulates the pressure in the TCC hydraulic circuit, allowing the torque converter clutch to apply gradually. The amount of slip that occurs during the apply is proportional to the duty cycle

    Short answer.....get a tune

  14. #54
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    I agree Steve is ready for me

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    PWM= Pulse Width Modulation

    Here's a long read but will explain PWM nicely and why they do it. They even use the 4l60e in the article.
    http://www.motor.com/magazine/pdfs/062006_07.pdf

    taken from the article:
    To enhance converter clutch engagement for improved fuel economy, a pulse width modulated (PWM) torque converter clutch (TCC) solenoid was added to the system in 1995 (Fig.2). This required a change in the pump assembly and valve body to accommodate the required hydraulics. (The acronym PWM is cast into the pump cover for easy identification.) With these changes, the PCM provides a duty cycle to this PWM solenoid, which in turn regulates the pressure in the TCC hydraulic circuit, allowing the torque converter clutch to apply gradually. The amount of slip that occurs during the apply is proportional to the duty cycle

    Short answer.....get a tune
    Yes I did get a Tune from Steve Williams with PWM on so he is recommending to tune with PWM off so I hope that fixes it and YES Orion YOU WERE RIGHT I SURE HOPE THIS WORKS because the converter is so much fun to drive at wot it's ridiculous lol Only thing it's way harder on gas lol it's always at wot I can't stop myself :-)))))))))))))))

  15. #55
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    PWM= Pulse Width Modulation

    Here's a long read but will explain PWM nicely and why they do it. They even use the 4l60e in the article.
    http://www.motor.com/magazine/pdfs/062006_07.pdf

    taken from the article:
    To enhance converter clutch engagement for improved fuel economy, a pulse width modulated (PWM) torque converter clutch (TCC) solenoid was added to the system in 1995 (Fig.2). This required a change in the pump assembly and valve body to accommodate the required hydraulics. (The acronym PWM is cast into the pump cover for easy identification.) With these changes, the PCM provides a duty cycle to this PWM solenoid, which in turn regulates the pressure in the TCC hydraulic circuit, allowing the torque converter clutch to apply gradually. The amount of slip that occurs during the apply is proportional to the duty cycle

    Short answer.....get a tune
    I'm going to guess I bypassed all that gradual apply junk when I changed my converter pressure tables as per the HPtuner thread.
    You just change the whole table to 100/90 (I'd have to look at it to be sure) and it makes the converter lock as if it's shifting into another gear, nice and firm.

    In which case it's what I've been saying all along.

  16. #56
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Orion, I'm sure you know the HPtuner table I'm speaking of.

    If I knew how to post a shot of it on here, I would.

    I prefer to get rid of the gradual apply, just unnecessary wear in my honest opinion. It's only there to satisfy the general population when these cars were sold.

  17. #57
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    gREAT GREAT GREAT that's what I wanted to hear hope it works Can I put in my stock PCM and drive the car around in the mean time It will take a few weeks to get my pcm back from Frost /Steve

    Thanks a lot guys I really appreciate this It's a good thing I have this site to get my info

    Cheers

    Paul

  18. #58
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    It should run with the stock computer/tune. The only thing I would question is possibly the loose converter setting off the engine misfire codes with the stock tune.
    I'm not sure if Frost changed the misfire sensitivity when he tuned it for you, but that's a common issue with converters. I have heard some say it's not a problem.
    I know when my converter went in, I didn't even get out of the driveway before it set a misfire code. I had to desensitize mine.

    Just something to keep in mind.

  19. #59
    BLKHWK Durango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New Brunswick Canada
    Age
    47
    Posts
    881

    Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

    OK I have 2 computers

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    It should run with the stock computer/tune. The only thing I would question is possibly the loose converter setting off the engine misfire codes with the stock tune.
    I'm not sure if Frost changed the misfire sensitivity when he tuned it for you, but that's a common issue with converters. I have heard some say it's not a problem.
    I know when my converter went in, I didn't even get out of the driveway before it set a misfire code. I had to desensitize mine.

    Just something to keep in mind.
    I bought a second computer from Steve thinking that if something like this happened that I could send the one that he programmed and use it in the meantime I was getting the other one programmed but he is saying I would have 2 PCM programmed for the price of 1 kind of defeating the purpose of buying a second PCM but I can understand Not that I could use 2 at the same time :-) As long as I can get it to work right I'm happy !!!

    My mechanic is cheacking my TPS tomorrow to see if it opens at 100% if it does well the tranny is shifting at 5700 to 5750rpm instead of 6 grand and taking of the pwm then I will be ready for May 15th opening track day. I am suppose to race against my old car now I will really know what a converter really does it feels slower maybe it's becaiuse of the looseness it doesn't hit as hard as it did between shifts!!!!!

  20. #60
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    I bought a second computer from Steve thinking that if something like this happened that I could send the one that he programmed and use it in the meantime I was getting the other one programmed but he is saying I would have 2 PCM programmed for the price of 1 kind of defeating the purpose of buying a second PCM but I can understand Not that I could use 2 at the same time :-) As long as I can get it to work right I'm happy !!!

    My mechanic is cheacking my TPS tomorrow to see if it opens at 100% if it does well the tranny is shifting at 5700 to 5750rpm instead of 6 grand and taking of the pwm then I will be ready for May 15th opening track day. I am suppose to race against my old car now I will really know what a converter really does it feels slower maybe it's becaiuse of the looseness it doesn't hit as hard as it did between shifts!!!!!
    another thing to keep in mind is that you're going by the tach for your shift rpm's.....they're not always real accurate or can be a little behind actual. Seat of the pants also isn't telling you really what the car is doing either.....it feels loose but trust me.....you're much faster than you were.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wtb yank ss
    By shepss217 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 06:33 AM
  2. Vig or Yank?
    By CandyRedZ28 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 12:02 PM
  3. Which Yank Stall To Buy?
    By CWW17 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-14-2007, 04:53 PM
  4. Yank em!
    By newguy WS6 in forum Drag Racing
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 04:12 AM
  5. Yank has a new Tranny!
    By Figz z28 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 09:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •