Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Love the Yank :-)))))

This is a discussion on Love the Yank :-))))) within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; I have a Y3000 Yank (10 yrs old), and if I had it to do over, I would have gone ...

SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

I have a Y3000 Yank (10 yrs old), and if I had it to do over, I would have gone with a 3600.
    I had my vehicle dyno tuned for the converter change, and they worked out all the problems I was experiencing after the TC install. My converter "locks up" @ 43 MPH in OD.

I do not experience any "shuttering or chatter" either before or after the tune.

SteveC

Black
    BLK TA modded 12.2@113mph

I'm new at this

Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    Oh jesus, don't even start. Would you rather it slip like a fuddle and be a smoother ride?

Of course it's gonna shake a little doing 40mph at 12-1300rpms.

Your lock up clutch can be activated at different mphs with some simple tuning.
    That's what I'm thinking if the lock up could be up in the mph a bit it would be a better feel but at 1/2 throttle she goes through the shifts perfectly and full throttle it shifts at 5800rpm I think a bit low right???

Pewter
    2000 Z28 Camaro

Yea but all that's adjusted in the tuning.

Black

Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    Yea but all that's adjusted in the tuning.
    I did get a mail order tune from Frost by the way guys this not a car that wasn't tuned I'm I bought a new PCM or I guess used one from him so that if this happen my car wouldn't be down too much so I'm getting ready to pack up the one I had in the car with the explaination of what it's doing and I hope the next one will be what I want

What would be a good MPH shift for wot and you say 43mph yeah mine is lower like 36 or 38mph pretty darn close for a 1st try I think I just don't have anyone around here that tune cars with TC

SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

Thumbs up