Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Just Bought 3.73's! A Few ?'s

This is a discussion on Just Bought 3.73's! A Few ?'s within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Alright I just got a great deal on some Strange 3.73's on eBay. Should I go ahead and have them ...

  1. #1
    Preferred Member CWW17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Age
    31
    Posts
    356

    Black | Black
    '07 Z06 | '98 WS6

    Just Bought 3.73's! A Few ?'s

    Alright I just got a great deal on some Strange 3.73's on eBay. Should I go ahead and have them installed now or wait until after I get a TC? Also what else should I have done along with the gear swap (tune ect.)? Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Awaiting Activation
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    LS1 land
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,667
    Quote Originally Posted by cww17 View Post
    Alright I just got a great deal on some Strange 3.73's on eBay. Should I go ahead and have them installed now or wait until after I get a TC? Also what else should I have done along with the gear swap (tune ect.)? Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks!
    you can install the gears before the TC. You will need it tuned because the gears will throw off your speedo. I would wait on the tune though until you get the TC - why pay for it twice?

  3. #3
    Preferred Member CWW17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Age
    31
    Posts
    356

    Black | Black
    '07 Z06 | '98 WS6

    so the only reason I will need the tune is because it will throw off my speedo? I can just do that with a handheld right?

  4. #4
    ArtistFormerlyKnownAsMac Silver Streak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    4,845

    All Black
    83, 87, 02 All WS6 T/As

    Your speedo WILL be off... and a tune will fix that... not sure if a handheld is able to fix that or not... but most places charge a fixed amount for a bolt on tune.. then only dyno time for everything after that... call them and find out. But I agree.. do a few things to take the most advantage of the tune first. But the gears will really wake up the car if its an auto.
    -Geno
    1983 Black WS6 "WindCharger"
    1987 Black WS6 "WS87"
    2002 Black WS6 "Silver Streak"
    Sold the other four f-bodies

  5. #5
    Preferred Member CWW17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Age
    31
    Posts
    356

    Black | Black
    '07 Z06 | '98 WS6

    Is a dyno necessary to do the speedo tune? because I do not know of any shops around here with a dyno besides up in Chicago... which is a good 3 hours away...

  6. #6
    Awaiting Activation
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    LS1 land
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,667
    no you don't need a dyno to change the speedo.

  7. #7
    98T/Aformula
    Guest
    I just got my 3.73s put in yesterday but I just set my speedo with my Hypertek cp3, and it seems to be on, I have a radar gun that im going to check it with but it seems like its right...I cant wait to open it up im just tryin to break them in slow before I do so, but everyone said it will be a whole other car !!!

  8. #8
    Preferred Member CWW17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Age
    31
    Posts
    356

    Black | Black
    '07 Z06 | '98 WS6

    how much did the install cost you? I got quoted at $200 I believe...

  9. #9
    Member Hawk241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UPSTATE NEW YORK
    Posts
    158

    Black
    2002 TransAm Firehawk

    Quote Originally Posted by 98T/Aformula View Post
    I just got my 3.73s put in yesterday but I just set my speedo with my Hypertek cp3, and it seems to be on, I have a radar gun that im going to check it with but it seems like its right...I cant wait to open it up im just tryin to break them in slow before I do so, but everyone said it will be a whole other car !!!
    Hey whats your tachometer at 60 mph?

  10. #10
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    if you need to change any of the needls on your guages there a cheaper way by removing the guage bezel leaving just the cluster and remove the needls on the cluster till you think everything is perfect.

    cheapest way i know of

  11. #11
    Retired NOT tired SteveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Poway, Ca
    Posts
    1,126

    SOM
    2001 Z28 (Sara)

    The main reason you need the speedo recalibrated is that the computer shifts the vehicle by MPH not RPM, so the vehicle won't shift correctly until the correction is made.

    SteveC

  12. #12
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    not to argue but the first time i installed some white faced guages i screwed up big time and place all the needles soo far off. i had to have a friend drive next to me and see how fast i was going cuse like at 40 it said iwas doing like 120 mph. its still shifted fine. it was on a 99 TA and you could be correct but i didnt have any problems with shifting, it might go with someother sensors soo just saying my story.

  13. #13
    ArtistFormerlyKnownAsMac Silver Streak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    4,845

    All Black
    83, 87, 02 All WS6 T/As

    Mine didn't have a prob shifting.. but it was 13% off what it should have been reading till I got it tuned.....

  14. #14
    Senior Member slims00ls1z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,212

    2005 GTO M6 Black
    2000 Z28 A4 Red

    Mine is way off going from 2.73's to 4.11's and the shifts come in way too early if I mash it. I'm taking it to the dealer to see what they can do they told me they "should" be able to do it will let ya know then.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Riverside OH
    Posts
    81

    NBM
    98 formula

    Quote Originally Posted by CWW17 View Post
    how much did the install cost you? I got quoted at $200 I believe...
    That seems about right for labor

  16. #16
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    yea thats cheap i got 400 for my estimate

  17. #17
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    the computer looks at mph AND rpm before it will shift. Both parameters have to be met before it will shift. If they're to far apart it may cause the car to "hunt" for shift points or it'll bang the limiter. With a gear swap in an f-body you'll want to get the speedo corrected. Vette's don't have the same problem because their speed sensors work off the axles and not the driveshaft.

    Putting the needles back on incorrectly won't effect shift points. The pcm looks at the speed sensor not the gauges.

  18. #18
    I lika da Chevy's LETHALxLS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,328

    BLACK
    Z/28 LS1

    Does anyone know what the gas milage would be in a a4 with 373 gears installed? Also at 50mph what will the rpms be at? Thanks!

  19. #19
    ArtistFormerlyKnownAsMac Silver Streak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    4,845

    All Black
    83, 87, 02 All WS6 T/As

    With hard drivi9ng I get around 18-19 combo driving. And 50 is just shy of 2 grand.

  20. #20
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by CWW17 View Post
    Is a dyno necessary to do the speedo tune? because I do not know of any shops around here with a dyno besides up in Chicago... which is a good 3 hours away...
    Where you from in illinois?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Just bought 08 Z06
    By clint195 in forum Corvette
    Replies: 186
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 06:14 PM
  2. Bought a WS6
    By stangereater in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 08:54 PM
  3. Bought a new toy....
    By buswwa in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-13-2008, 10:49 AM
  4. Bought another gun
    By MagicMan in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-13-2008, 07:57 PM
  5. Just bought a 99' FRC C5
    By Quickshift_C5 in forum Corvette
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 05:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •