Results 1 to 12 of 12

Doing a 6spd swap to a TH400

This is a discussion on Doing a 6spd swap to a TH400 within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; What all do i need ?? I know i need a stall,driveline,crossmember, and flexplate anything else that is lil stuff ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ceres,CA
    Posts
    10

    Black
    2000 Pontiac WS6 Trans Am

    Doing a 6spd swap to a TH400

    What all do i need ?? I know i need a stall,driveline,crossmember, and flexplate anything else that is lil stuff im forgetting ???

  2. #2
    Junior Member GONZO SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Age
    35
    Posts
    84

    pewter
    2000 SS

    I was thinking on doing the same swap,have u had any luck with the swap ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Too Fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,170

    Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

    I don't have any advice, but I do have a ? Unless you're making your car into a race car, why would you do this swap. Lose double OD of the manual trans??

  4. #4
    Junior Member GONZO SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Age
    35
    Posts
    84

    pewter
    2000 SS

    Thats what I have in mind pluse adding a gear vendor

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tulsa,OK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    914

    Quick Silver
    2002 Z06

    I also question the reason for doing this?

    That aside.. You will need a new console, a new radiator and I think a new PCM or a re-program.


    Slow Passenger Window - Want Passenger Express Down - Tired of Replacing DayTime Running Light Bulbs

    Camaro Owners Click Here
    Firebird Owners Click Here

    Need instructions to replace your F-Body window motor?
    www.AutoTrix.net

  6. #6
    Member Goldcuffs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    411

    Silver
    2000 Trans Am

    Just my 2 cents but they can build 4L60E's and 4L80E's to handle quite a bit of power. There's really no reason to use that old junk any more.

  7. #7
    Member AKA Speedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Elizabethtown, KY
    Posts
    375

    Spice Red Metallic
    2006 Pontiac GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldcuffs View Post
    Just my 2 cents but they can build 4L60E's and 4L80E's to handle quite a bit of power. There's really no reason to use that old junk any more.
    true... just look at Performa built.

    I'm not sure how the prices vary though. Old may be cheaper?

  8. #8
    Member 408WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Age
    50
    Posts
    401

    Current best: 10.60/126.8
    1998 Pontiac TA WS6

    I did a TH400 swap from an M6 awhile back. It seems like a used:

    1) TCI Flex plate specically for TH400/LS1 interface.

    2) New crossmember, I got mine from BMR, but I've ready where you can just modify the old one by drilling oblong holes, need to verify this.

    3) New driveshaft, or need to replace the yoke end of your old one, while getting the length right. If you still are using the stock aluminum DS, you should go ahead and buy a new one. If you have enough power that you need a TH400, then chances are you stock driveshaft will not last long.

    4) You'll need a new shifter. Mine is a B&M, I like it. Have fun installing it though.

    You won't need to reprogram for PCM. You also won't need a new console. TH400 fits right up in there.

    5) They make special bell housings now for the TH400/LS1 interface, I highly recommend buying one, although you don't have to. There will be a bolthole or 2 that won't get used if you don't.

    6) New converter.

    Thats about all I can think of...

    You should also think about a speedometer sensor...

  9. #9
    Member 408WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Age
    50
    Posts
    401

    Current best: 10.60/126.8
    1998 Pontiac TA WS6

    Also, unless your car sees mostly track use, I would not recommend the TH400. Its not nearly as fun driving around on the streets as an M6, but if you drag race alot, and have alot of power, then it makes sense. I kinda miss my M6, but my car mostly sees the track and I got tried of replacing clutches all the time.

  10. #10
    Member 408WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Age
    50
    Posts
    401

    Current best: 10.60/126.8
    1998 Pontiac TA WS6

    If you decide to go 4L80E, then the only difference is price. But with the 4L80E, you WILL have to get another PCM, unless you shift it manually.

  11. #11
    Veteran Hi-Po's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,461

    Black
    1999 TA WS.6

    Quote Originally Posted by 408WS6 View Post
    If you decide to go 4L80E, then the only difference is price. But with the 4L80E, you WILL have to get another PCM, unless you shift it manually.
    Not true. A 98 ECM will not control the 80E. A 99+ ECM will. Flashing the ECM with the approprate OS and buying the correct harness,connecotrs WILL work. A 4L80E Trucks operating system will work.

  12. #12
    Member 408WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Age
    50
    Posts
    401

    Current best: 10.60/126.8
    1998 Pontiac TA WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    Not true. A 98 ECM will not control the 80E. A 99+ ECM will. Flashing the ECM with the approprate OS and buying the correct harness,connecotrs WILL work. A 4L80E Trucks operating system will work.
    I guess I am alittle behind. A couple of years ago when I looked at it, the common thinking was that you had to use a stand alone controller for the 4L80E. Turns out the 99+ ECM's will work. It doesn't matter now, if I do anything different than what I already have, it will be to go back to an M6.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. swap from t56 to th400 any input
    By 1-BAD-SS in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 04:24 AM
  2. Question: th400????
    By lancesT/A in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 03:08 PM
  3. Auto to 6SPD swap help
    By sirzones in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 11:19 AM
  4. how hard is a th400 swap
    By crawdad369 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 08:10 PM
  5. Th400 Swap W/ Everything you need
    By Frans96ss in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2006, 10:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •