Black
    1993 Firebird Formula

Custom Shift Kit

I recently spoke with my local transmission shop about installing a transgo shift kit and they told me it would cost $150 labor (plus the kit itself) to install it. That's quite reasonable to me, however for the same $150 they also offer their own custom shift kit including parts and labor. They say that their kit includes heavier duty springs, stronger parts and increased line pressure above what a transgo/B&M kit provides. It sounds like a good value but is it too good to be true? Is there anything I can ask them or talk to them about to find out if their custom kit is better then a trans-go kit?

Steve

Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

They are going to rework the valve body. Most custom preformance automatic builders do this. With B&M your paying for name see if there is anyone else that they have done this for recently and see if they will give you an opinion

NBM
    1998 Z-28

I work for a trans. shop (I'm a drive ability tech though, so I'm no pro at trannys), but I know when we install shift kits (trans go) our builders do "customization" to the valve body in addition to what the kit calls for.

I'm not sure what parts they would use in lieu of the trans go kit, as trans go makes some great kits.

Black
    1993 Firebird Formula

It sounds like it's pretty safe to go with the shop's own kit instead of the trans-go kit. I will probably setup a time with them in the next few weeks to have it done. I will report back what happens.

Sunset Orange Metallic
    2002 Z28 Hardtop

Thats a very low price for a shift kit install. Are they a reputable shop?

Trans Go is a great shift kit, had it put in two cars and a truck.

white
    01 formula