Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Ed Blown Vert
  • 1 Post By Ed Blown Vert

Converter unlocking randomly???

This is a discussion on Converter unlocking randomly??? within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Yesterday on the highway at around 70mph my converter unlocked for no reason, then after a minute or so locked ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34

    Pewter
    00 NHRA Trans Am

    Converter unlocking randomly???

    Yesterday on the highway at around 70mph my converter unlocked for no reason, then after a minute or so locked up again now it does this randomly while driving at any speed? I did try the brake pedal thing and the converter did unlock then lock as it should so that's probably not the problem...and no ses light either. I do have HP Tuners in case there's anything I can check/log with it? I did delete torque management last week but I don't know if that has anything to do with it or not? Any suggestions of what I can try?
    2000 NHRA Edition T/A Pewter
    A4 3.23 Midwest 3200, Lid, MAF Ends, Ram Air Kit
    NX wet Kit - Best 60ft:1.67
    1/8th:7.48@94.34n20
    1/4:11.67@116.58n20

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Was it something you could feel, or are you just seeing it on the screen as you scan with HP Tuners?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34

    Pewter
    00 NHRA Trans Am

    I can feel it and definitely notice the rpm change, I haven't done any scanning yet as I'm out of town with the car and the tuner is home Hopefully this isn't serious and I make it home with no problem.

  4. #4
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,746

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Check for misfires, that can cause your converter to unlock.
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Age
    52
    Posts
    34

    Pewter
    00 NHRA Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Blown Vert View Post
    Check for misfires, that can cause your converter to unlock.
    Really? That's crazy sounding but I do remembering reading something like this before. I'll be back home tomorrow and will try logging some runs and see what it does. Thanks


    Well all the way home it was fine. Only thing I did was fill it up with gas, would bad gas cause misfires that maybe caused this to happen?
    Last edited by Dano 00TA; 10-20-2014 at 09:59 AM.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Misfires can be related to the ignition system or fueling. A lot of times on our cars a lean condition will result in a misfire - but you generally will see a code set that also trips the SES light.

  7. #7
    LSX whore allbaugh_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,895

    Pewter
    2000 Z28 Camaro

    2nd pajeff02, I had this issue many years ago, had to adjust the misfire tables.

  8. #8
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,746

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    2nd pajeff02, I had this issue many years ago, had to adjust the misfire tables.
    Thanks for reminding me, I had to do that at low rpm's

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Converter unlocking issues
    By Decadence75 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-29-2013, 06:10 AM
  2. Door Locks Unlocking On Their Own
    By GULLETT17 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 08:11 AM
  3. Unlocking Diablo Predator?
    By NiteRiderWs6 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2007, 11:38 AM
  4. TC keeps locking and unlocking...Why?
    By The Scientist in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2006, 10:34 AM
  5. Unlocking problem
    By oneBADDz in forum General Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 10:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •