Results 1 to 9 of 9

A4 wont shift

This is a discussion on A4 wont shift within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; 4L60E trans, every gear is drive. fluid is good but 1st though 4th is first to the trans. any help. ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    258

    mystic
    95 LS, yes it says LS

    A4 wont shift

    4L60E trans, every gear is drive. fluid is good but 1st though 4th is first to the trans. any help. I know this should be in the trans section, but more people look here(and I did post in the drivetrain sec). Any help is needed.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Comstock WI.
    Age
    33
    Posts
    62

    White
    1999 Camaro LS1

    i hit a piece of something on the road one time, and after that my car went thru the same thing, all that had happened was the linkage disconnected, you can still shut off and restart the car as long as you put the shifter in the Neutral postion.
    does your park still work, or is that first gear also, cause if it is, then your linkage is disconnected. if you jack up the car from the side you should be able to take a look, if nothing is broke you can just press it back on, if the piece is broke, then youll have to replace it, hope this helps

  3. #3
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Yepp, I agree with z28, check out your linkage and see if its disconnected or broken.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  4. #4
    Homebrew Master irishpenguin13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    leesburg, florida
    Age
    36
    Posts
    572

    Arctic White
    1997 Trans Am

    yessir...i just had my linkage fixed. it was the same way as yours...plus it was missing a bolt! ooh-muh-goodness!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    258

    mystic
    95 LS, yes it says LS

    Ok, I replaced the cable. That half fixed the problem. Now when you put it in park it might still be in drive or reverse. Just depends on what it wants to do. Nutral is kind of tricky, sometimes you have to go to D1 then it will go in, the rest of the time I'm SOL. Any clues.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    258

    mystic
    95 LS, yes it says LS

    Just by chance, is the cable adjustable if so where.

  7. #7
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    Put the car in neutral, not the shifter but the tranny, then pull off the cable and put the shifter in neutral, then reinstial the cable. sounds like its just out of adjustment. Need too make sure the shifter and tranny are in sync.
    J

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    258

    mystic
    95 LS, yes it says LS

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Member GA Country Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Cumming, GA
    Posts
    182

    Metallic Red
    2002 Corvette Coupe

    Quote Originally Posted by mysticZ View Post
    Ok, I replaced the cable. That half fixed the problem. Now when you put it in park it might still be in drive or reverse. Just depends on what it wants to do. Nutral is kind of tricky, sometimes you have to go to D1 then it will go in, the rest of the time I'm SOL. Any clues.
    Sounds like you've got some good advice here. I sure hope you get it fixed.
    That's a scarey thought not knowing what gear you are in. Sounds like you're
    on the right track though. Good luck!
    Michael
    In GA waving from '02 C5 LS1, Z51, D1SC, 60lb injectors,RPM level 5-4L60E, 3:42, Yank 3600, QA1-12 ways, MTI long headers, high flow cats, Borlas, Wilwood, 603rwhp, 542rwtq.(DynoJet 248-C) 10.89@127.57 on street tires, Race Weight 3,640 lbs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: my A4 wont down shift. Why
    By mglangley21 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-27-2012, 09:37 AM
  2. wont shift!!!
    By tangkiller_z28 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 11:52 AM
  3. SHIFT HAPPENS...you wont believe this
    By 02cetransam in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 01:57 AM
  4. wont shift!!
    By z28jerad in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 06:35 PM
  5. wont shift from 2nd to 3rd @ wot
    By todd in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 06:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •