Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

A4 down shift from 3rd to 2nd

This is a discussion on A4 down shift from 3rd to 2nd within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Just wondering if my transmission is going out. If i'm on the X=way crusing in over drive going any where ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    A4 down shift from 3rd to 2nd

    Just wondering if my transmission is going out. If i'm on the X=way crusing in over drive going any where from 60 to 80 MPH and floor it It shifts down to second smooth but and takes off but feels like there is a delay in the acceration. It starts pulling and then it feels like it slips for a split second and then starts pullingagain really hard. could this be a clutch going bad or a engine issue

    Thanks in advanc for your help and info

  2. #2
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    I guess i should've said it takes of hard then for a plit second backs off then takes off hard again. my cars completly stock. I just had a engine light and it told me to replace the 02 sensor bank 2 #1 .

    Maybe I'm starting to get a clogged cat or somthing

  3. #3
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by 2002blackz28 View Post
    I guess i should've said it takes of hard then for a plit second backs off then takes off hard again. my cars completly stock. I just had a engine light and it told me to replace the 02 sensor bank 2 #1 .

    Maybe I'm starting to get a clogged cat or somthing
    that will effect it a little..but no..what your describing is normal...its a little bit of a throttle lag.....when you gun it..it will pull hard for about .5 secs then just unleashes the wrath of god for the rest of the gear..

  4. #4
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    Maybe it has to do with the "fly by wire" we have on our cars. Mine does this too. I can actually goose the gas peddle and release it faster than the servo reacts (in park). I would'nt be too concerned with this. I think it's just normal for our set up. If it slips bad you'll know it right away. I think it's just the ECU's way of controlling WOT power is all. I maybe wrong though.
    yea kind of a delay the pcm might be thinking "oh shit wot! ..ok do this " and that is the delay...

    i also thought that drive by wire was in reference to the electronic throttle control like the vettes etc have...not the cable driven throttle like our f-bods have

  5. #5
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    My 01 Camaro is drive by wire...He probably is to..No throttle cable and no kick down cable to the tranny..I think it's in all 00-02 f-bods.. I'm not a fan of it though. I've got this huge squared oval with a black lid like thing where there should be linkages. Bunch of wires and nuttin' else.
    whhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaat? really ..i thought all f bods were cable driven

  6. #6
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    ohh you dont have a lsx?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    harrisburg pa.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    868

    black
    02 vette vert

    Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    Nope. My camaro is loaded though. The only things it does'nt have is leather and a v8.
    Hopefully before the year is out I'll be starting its LSx transplantation.
    ok, you can live without the leather, but............ anyway, did they do drive by wire throttle on later ls1 f-body? i didnt think so.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    harrisburg pa.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    868

    black
    02 vette vert

    no, im sure they didnt.

  9. #9
    ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    9,965

    White
    2008 Hummer H3

    Quote Originally Posted by dklowrider View Post
    no, im sure they didnt.
    Yeah that's why I said, "I think" and, "I maybe wrong though". Thanx for clearing that up.
    Last edited by Smittro; 06-26-2009 at 12:52 PM.

  10. #10
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    ok good...i didnt loose my mind

  11. #11
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    No not losin' your mind. I wonder why GM did'nt use it on lsx f-bodies though?
    probably to keep costs down

  12. #12
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    probably to keep costs down
    Why did they stick a 7.5 instead of an 8.5 under there???

    THE WORLD WANTS TO KNOW!!LOL


    I really do like the cable driven honestly. I love the EFI system on the lsx. I like having a feel for it.

  13. #13
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshieDoom View Post
    Why did they stick a 7.5 instead of an 8.5 under there???

    THE WORLD WANTS TO KNOW!!LOL


    I really do like the cable driven honestly. I love the EFI system on the lsx. I like having a feel for it.


    the 7.5 .....to save money

  14. #14
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    Okay. I just had a 02 sensor go out in the exhaust M. passenger side . I had it replaced but i was changing my spark plugs today and noticed when I hit my drivers side cat down near the bottom of it I hear a little rattle unlike the other side which ther is no sounds. G.M dealer said it was within spec. I think it needs to be replaced..Little power loss on the accelleration seems to have some torque loss not pulling like before i threw the 02 code. I still need to change the back 3 pugs on the passenger side before I can rule out the power loss is from bad spark plugs.the other 5 that i got out were pretty worn. Thanks to all for the info about the tranny

  15. #15
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    You are running on 2 different plugs? You are probly get knock and the computer is having to pull timming.

  16. #16
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    My power loss was before the attempted pulg change. I beleive I have a bad cat

  17. #17
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    Bad plugs can cause power loss. Are you an LS1 or V6? A bad cat should not hurt power at low rpms it will cause a back up on one bank and lay way down on the topend, not pick again. It sounds like the PCM is pulling timming and then putting it back in.

  18. #18
    Senior Member Z28_Driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,017

    Sunset Orange Metallic
    2002 Z28 Hardtop

    my car had the strange passing performance too.
    stomp it. it downshift and takes off. then stops pulling. then starts again.
    had a transgo shift kit installed.
    solved that problem.
    works like a 350turbo now.
    its the best thing you can do with an A4.

  19. #19
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    I have a 2002 z28 automatic 70,000 on it it would pully really hard with lots of torque until a week ago it started running rough and engine light came on and displayed a 02 sensor was bad bank 2 upsream ,I had it replaced and it fixed the idling and running rough problem ,but still not back to normal like befor the code showed up. Also i have a new air and fuel filter installed also cleaned mass air flow and throttle body

    .I just had the cats confirmed and they are good also changed the other 02 sensor now both banks 1 and 2 upsream sensors are all new. It seems to be a little stronger but still no codes yet .I still have not changed the plugs and wires on 4-6-and 8 on passenger side. They are a little more tricky to replace. I should have them in soon. Also the o2 sensor cap down stream bank 1 is a little loose and making a little noise here and ther not loud at all and no codes coming on. would this sensor going bad cause any problems

    One thing I did notice and you guy's will probably think i'm crazy is that when I ran the air condition and went wide open throttle today It seemed to pull harder than with it off. If any one has had this happen to them please let me know. also what could cause that.
    Thanks again for your help

  20. #20
    Junior Member 2002blackz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    76

    black
    2002 camaro z28

    I just confimed the brand of plugs that I'm removing the are Denso Iridium here is the # thats on the plug PTJ16R15 and it say's there pre gapped at.060 they look a litle worn. and like i stated before i still need to replace the other 3 plugs and wires.
    The plugs that i'm installing are OEM ACDelco Spark Plug
    Part No. 41-985
    IRIDIUM; @ GAP .040

    Why so big of a differance in gap It seems since my car is bone stock I should use the ac delco. any thoughts Thanks to all for help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: 1-2 shift
    By derekbuckner1 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-24-2012, 07:14 AM
  2. Automatic Shift boot and new shift handle
    By stew215 in forum Appearance Section
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-21-2011, 03:04 PM
  3. 1st to 2nd shift
    By MichiganZ28 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 05:06 PM
  4. Vinci tuner shift firmness increase vs Shift kit ?
    By Formula in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 09:37 AM
  5. when should i shift????
    By dude2race in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 06:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •