Results 1 to 5 of 5

4l60 on a LS1?

This is a discussion on 4l60 on a LS1? within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Ok i got a deal for a ls1 and the guy have a used 4L60 that he can give it ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member yosteff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal, CANADA
    Posts
    34

    Silver
    1996 Camaro

    4l60 on a LS1?

    Ok i got a deal for a ls1 and the guy have a used 4L60 that he can give it to me free does this tranny fit on the ls1...does it need its own ecm for the tranny? the engine was originaly matted to a 6 spds

  2. #2
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    It has to be a 4l60e with the bell housing bolt pattern for an LS1 block if that’s what you are going to use it on. 4l60e's are very common from 93 on and there are several styles. 1 piece cases and 2 piece cases as well as gen1&2 GM small/big block bell housings and gen3 bell housings, as for the controller if you have a 6 speed pcm and harness you would need a PCM for an auto and harness for the auto. There are after market controllers for the 4l60e but they run $700+. You could run an after market controller for the engine and the Trans but cheapest way is to just get a PCM for that engine that was an auto. You could get one from PCM for less.

  3. #3
    Junior Member yosteff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Montreal, CANADA
    Posts
    34

    Silver
    1996 Camaro

    Hey good thanks!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member JaycenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Holiday,FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,378

    Green
    1997 Camaro Z-28

    Hey I was actually wrong about one thing. in 1993 F-bodies there was a 4l60 with no E. I belive it was a big brother to the 700r4 but without the electronics and the need for a controller. I do not know if it came with a 2 piece case to be able to change the bell houseing. the only thing it would need on it's own is maybe a lockdown modual but I'm not sure. later 700r4's if you use them on a carbed setup for the street needed a lockdown modual to control the lockdown Solenoid . You can get those from year one for 150 bucks.

  5. #5
    Junior Member 900HPBIRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mo.
    Posts
    8
    No 700R4's (4L60's) came with a removable bellhousing. If you have rear end gears of 3.73 or numerically higher,you do not have to have a lock up converter. You do have to make sure your TV cable is adjusted and set up correctly though. Painless Wiring makes a nice kit for the TCC control.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 4l60 4l80
    By Joels1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 01:43 AM
  2. Help: Bulit ls1 can't keep a 4l60 in it help me!
    By 450rwhpls1 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 12:22 PM
  3. 4L60 transbrake
    By dfillmore827 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2008, 01:34 PM
  4. 4L60 Probs
    By Tennessee in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 11:59 AM
  5. Looking for LT-1 & 4L60
    By mrosenfield in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2005, 02:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •