Results 1 to 16 of 16

3rd gear REDLINE NO UP SHIFT

This is a discussion on 3rd gear REDLINE NO UP SHIFT within the Automatic Transmission forums, part of the Drivetrain category; Okay so im hard on the gas like beating a mustand or gettin on the freeway or somethin, and when ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    3rd gear REDLINE NO UP SHIFT

    Okay so im hard on the gas like beating a mustand or gettin on the freeway or somethin, and when my car gets to shifting into 3rd it will just redline and not shift. sometime i have to lift off the throttle to let it shift sometimes it just bounces off for a second and then shift. im pretty sure this means my clutch pack are really really worn, but maybe its something stupid.
    any ideas???

  2. #2
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    anything?

  3. #3
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Are you manually shifting it ? If so, try leaving it in overdrive at WOT & it should shift... If not, you need to get it programmed for lower shift points. Even at the track, I leave mine in OD. If I leave it in drive, it bounces the rev limiter...
    Good Luck !

  4. #4
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    thanks ya its just left in drive, i need to look into getting a programmer because i am also looking to put in 4.10

  5. #5
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    thanks ya its just left in drive, i need to look into getting a programmer because i am also looking to put in 4.10.s in

  6. #6
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    stupid computer lol

  7. #7
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    If you can get hooked up with the HP Tuners, that's what I would recomend !!! Good Luck !!!

  8. #8
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    the only one i was looking at was a diablo sport tuned by slp but i will look into that thanks

  9. #9
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,748

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Make sure your not low on fluid. If you aren't, then most likely your tranny is going out. Any mods done to the car lately?

  10. #10
    See if there is a difference between D and OD. I have seen the use of OD solving this many times on 4L60E's. It allows all of the oil to go to the 3-4 clutches, and none to the overrun clutches on the 2-3 shift. When in D, the overrun clutches come on robbing some of the needed oil to make the 3-4 clutches apply. Same thing in the 700R4, but this problem never came up much due to the different circuitry. Oil level needs to be slightly on the high side too, especially if you have good 60 foot times.

  11. #11
    n2ogto 1fastgto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    114

    red
    2004 Pontiac GTO

    mine does the same thing it will just bounce off the rev limiter from 2nd to 3rd but only when im on the bottle

  12. #12
    If it only does this when using the nitrous, then most likely a capacity issue. Not enough 3-4 clutch surface area, and not enough feed oil to the clutches fast enough. How much added NOS are we talking about? What is the HP before the nitrous?

  13. #13
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Every time I added more power, I had to lower my shift points... Especially while on the bottle !!!

  14. #14
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    well my friends 02 z has done this until he bought a tuner which was a predator and he was runnin nos. and since he has passed his dad gave me all the stuff of his car including the nos kit maf tuner seperate rear end, so i have so stuff going on my car pretty soon, but i think i will just lower my shift points change fluid and run about a quart more, im also goiing to be installing a auxilary trans cooler just to keep things cooler,

    speaking of does anyone know how much it will run to send my predator in to be unlocked? thanks luke

  15. #15
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Call them, and tell them the gm garage flashed your ecm and locked you out. If they ask where you got it, Jegs, Summit, or a speed shop, but you lost the receipt. I did that with a hypertech, and it only cost me the shipping ! Good Luck !!!

  16. #16
    Senior Member camarojunky74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    corona ca
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,258

    white, white and pewter
    Rip99SSA4,74Z28M4,02SSM6

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    Call them, and tell them the gm garage flashed your ecm and locked you out. If they ask where you got it, Jegs, Summit, or a speed shop, but you lost the receipt. I did that with a hypertech, and it only cost me the shipping ! Good Luck !!!
    i callled and they said that if i dont have the reciept it wil cost 100 bucks to get it unlocked, this is bullshit i think does anyone in here have a reciept i can borrow lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. car will not shift to the next gear...
    By alxz in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 11:41 AM
  2. Help: M6 will not Shift into any gear while on
    By knight721 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 05:00 AM
  3. Help: Can't shift into gear
    By jacosta in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 03:29 PM
  4. delayed shift into 2nd gear
    By LETHALxLS1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 10:36 AM
  5. WTB Gear Shift knob
    By enjun in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2007, 09:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •