mystic teal
    2001 z28

Question Underdrive pulley install question

I'm looking for some installation advice on how to hold the flywheel while installing an slp underdrive pulley on a 2001 z28, a4. The instructions call for 240 foot pounds on the initial seating of the pulley and then 35 lbs with the new crank bolt plus an additional 140 degrees.

I'm a backyard mechanic at best trained at the school of no money when i was in the navy. I would like to know if this is a bear or can be done without special tools and without breaking a tooth off the flywheel. Any tips, tricks, advice or encouragement would be appreciated.

Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

You'll need a puller to get the original off. You won't break a tooth off the flywheel, just be careful.

ONYX BLACK
    2000 Camaro SS

Quote Originally Posted by KDZRGROWN View Post
    I'm looking for some installation advice on how to hold the flywheel while installing an slp underdrive pulley on a 2001 z28, a4. The instructions call for 240 foot pounds on the initial seating of the pulley and then 35 lbs with the new crank bolt plus an additional 140 degrees.

I'm a backyard mechanic at best trained at the school of no money when i was in the navy. I would like to know if this is a bear or can be done without special tools and without breaking a tooth off the flywheel. Any tips, tricks, advice or encouragement would be appreciated.
    Hi, wondering how you made out?

I am trying to figure out how to do mine on a 6 speed. My first attempt I had the front end up on jack stands, in gear and brake on. While I was trying to loosen the Pully Bolt with the help of a breaker bar, the car started to go backwards, off the stands..........yikes!!!!!!

I stopped!!!!!!!!

My next attempt will be with my wife with her foot on the brake, hoping that helps.

Any body have a tutorial or a link to a tutorial that works? I have found several but they don t work.

Thanks and have fun

mystic teal
    2001 z28