Results 1 to 5 of 5

Running pig rich after intake install--HELP!!

This is a discussion on Running pig rich after intake install--HELP!! within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Installed my buddies intake from his 2002 SS and into my 2000 Trans Am and when I started it, It ...

  1. #1
    Member jrgswhitels1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    In front of you, where else?
    Posts
    258

    Black
    1993 Camaro Z28

    Running pig rich after intake install--HELP!!

    Installed my buddies intake from his 2002 SS and into my 2000 Trans Am and when I started it, It idled pretty high(3500), then came down to 850 rpm and died!! Did it again, and did the same thing!! Third time, it definitely stabilized after it had to relearn with new intake, but the "Check Engine light" came on. Map sensor code came up on my diablo sprt. tuner, I cleared it, and never came back on! Everything's good except that my fuel trim is at a stinky high of 25 long term with short term in the average of 3.50! I adjusted fuel trim at a maximum of -5.00%,and still running pig rich!!!??? Any suggestions??

  2. #2
    2002 Formula Firehawk 96z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,321

    Black
    2002 Formula Firehawk

    you mean the ls6 intake into your 00 ls1?

  3. #3
    Blown, Stroked, & Sprayed

    Ed Blown Vert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    50,747

    Black
    383 Procharged & N20 Vert

    Did you make sure you plugged in the MAP sensor on the back of the intake?
    Black 1999 Blown Convertible A4
    Forged 383, ATI D-1SC
    NX MAF Kit | 222/226 .585 115
    AS Stage II 6.0L FI Heads
    Moser 9" | 3.70 | Wavetrac | 35 Spline | Vigilante 3600
    548.0 RWHP - 563.8 RWTQ - 10# - D1

    666.0 RWHP - 734.2 RWTQ - 125 Shot - P1

    Black 2009 Escalade Hybrid 4WD
    Black 2008 GMC Yukon Hybrid 4WD (Totaled)

    Black 2013 Chevy Volt (Gone)

  4. #4
    Nitrous Tuner LS2Tuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WestCoast AZ-CALI
    Posts
    4,763

    Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

    You either have a MAJOR vacuum leak or like Ed stated the MAP isn't working.
    Don't be afraid of the bottle!!! Be afraid of your tune!!!

  5. #5
    Member jrgswhitels1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    In front of you, where else?
    Posts
    258

    Black
    1993 Camaro Z28

    I went through all the bolts to recheck torque and they were all loose! Go figure, I thought I torqued them all down! Before I restart though, I am going to re-check all connections! Do you guys know if whether not there is a gasket between the IAC valve and the throttle body? I dont have one on and was wondering why it didnt have one! Without it, it just seems to me that Im just looking for a vaccuum leak!!, which is what I believe I have.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: running to rich
    By reaper ws6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 09:07 PM
  2. Help: Running Rich
    By MrKid in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-17-2010, 11:43 AM
  3. Running rich after header install?
    By jb'sWS6 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-11-2006, 11:47 PM
  4. Running Rich
    By PgaNick in forum LT1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-01-2006, 02:17 AM
  5. Running Rich?
    By WolfPack187 in forum V6
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-14-2005, 10:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •