Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

port and polish my MAF?

This is a discussion on port and polish my MAF? within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have my stock MAF on my car right now. my buddy gave me a halfway done p&p maf and ...

  1. #1
    Member jakez28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    126

    Sebring Silver
    1998 Chevy Camaro Z28

    port and polish my MAF?

    I have my stock MAF on my car right now. my buddy gave me a halfway done p&p maf and i wanna finish the job and put in my car to see some diff. anybody know how to polish a MAF, lets say in my own garage? what will i need

  2. #2
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Best advice you will get free of charge, don't touch your MAF, leave the stock one alone, never port/polish the MAF.

  3. #3
    NY Representative basballny2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NeW YoRk
    Posts
    3,393

    Red
    2001 ws6

    Quote Originally Posted by Y2KPewterSS View Post
    Best advice you will get free of charge, don't touch your MAF, leave the stock one alone, never port/polish the MAF.
    couldnt agree more

  4. #4
    Member jakez28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    126

    Sebring Silver
    1998 Chevy Camaro Z28

    really? ok then. well my bud told me i would feel the diff in the few hp that id gain but it just didnt sound right to me.. id rather go buy an aftermarket one thanks tho

  5. #5
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by jakez28 View Post
    really? ok then. well my bud told me i would feel the diff in the few hp that id gain but it just didnt sound right to me.. id rather go buy an aftermarket one thanks tho
    I wouldn't waste my money on an aftermarket MAF either. Just leave the stock MAF alone. It is good up to 500HP, there is no need to tinker with the MAF. Spend your money elsewhere.

  6. #6
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,998

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Yep. Don't touch the MAF

  7. #7
    NY Representative basballny2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NeW YoRk
    Posts
    3,393

    Red
    2001 ws6

    Quote Originally Posted by jakez28 View Post
    well my bud told me i would feel the diff in the few hp that id gain
    your not going to "feel" a few hp.......

  8. #8
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by jakez28 View Post
    really? ok then. well my bud told me i would feel the diff in the few hp that id gain but it just didnt sound right to me.. id rather go buy an aftermarket one thanks tho
    keep in mind what the maf does and its relationship with the pcm...the maf reads air flow ..sends the signal to the pcm...the pcm interprets this signal based on the idea that the maf is completely stock , screen and all...so when you change that you change the way air enters and travels over the sensors ..so imagine the confusion and poor performance you would get on a stock tune.

    most of the aftermarket mafs will "gain" you power by making the car run lean..something i dont want to leave up to a aftermarket maf on a stock tune.

  9. #9
    Auto Painter RyanJM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,002

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    I would argree with leaving the stock one alone. I have a aftermarket granatelli because my stock one wasn't working and needed to be replaced. Might have been old and because it spent many years as a dd up with me in Mass. I drive it though snow, slush, and rain. Was my only car at the time so it didn't have a choice but my axle is all rusty and look beaten and one front lower are is dented, who knows maybe I hit something years ago. My factory chrome wheels even bubbled and flakes off. Now I have all new umiLca's, panhard, spohn sway bars, bmr spings, and kyb agx's, all I have left is the umi upper and lower arms in the front and a 9" and the car will look like new again.
    1998 Trans Am 85k miles.
    Bolt ons, MS3 113LSA cam, Circle D Stall, Tune, Modified WS6 style hood, Full Suspension, 6000k HID's, Clear Side Markers w/ Leds, Led 3rd Brake Light and 18" AR Staggered Killer Wheels w/ BFG KDW NT's.- Weekend Toy/DD
    02 Trailblazer -Sold
    09 Ram 1500 CC - Sold
    09 Cobalt SS/TC - Sold
    13 ram 1500 LoneStar CC 4x4 - Magnaflow, K&N,and more to come-DD/Toy

  10. #10
    Member c5z28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    8,120

    On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

    What they said

  11. #11
    Member jakez28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    126

    Sebring Silver
    1998 Chevy Camaro Z28

    right on ill leave that alone thx fellas

  12. #12
    NY Representative basballny2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NeW YoRk
    Posts
    3,393

    Red
    2001 ws6

    you could port and polish your throttle body however

  13. #13
    Senior Member 98maro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    north bay california
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,973

    Black
    00 camaro ss M6 #6695

    Yeah. Port & polish you throttle body it's a good Idea
    also do the overpass on the throttle body coolant hose

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1,621

    silver
    2000 formula

    i still dont get it......port...descreen.......dont port....dont descreen......those 3 little wires dont care whats in front of them......they just report how much air is going past them..........no??? the new GM replacement MAF has no screen........

  15. #15
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by sjsingle1 View Post
    i still dont get it......port...descreen.......dont port....dont descreen......those 3 little wires dont care whats in front of them......they just report how much air is going past them..........no??? the new GM replacement MAF has no screen........
    the problem is the stock calibration...you can descreen and then tune and be fine.....however porting causes inconsistent readings and makes it almost impossible to tune.

    the screen is there to straighten/smooth out the air flow ..this isnt a problem with the corvette and f-bodys as we are a straight intake tract ..but none the less...it is tuned for it.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1,621

    silver
    2000 formula

    ok.......analogy time......a wind sock says its blowing 50 miles a hour.....after we port it and descreen it......it now says its blowing 60 MPH.....the computer should think....its now blowing 60 MPH...not 50MPH.....and the smart computer should be able to compensate for the increased speed....or are we blaming the smart(dumb?) computer cuz it cant recalibrate for the new and improved windsock???........and between the air filter and the intake valve/engine cylinder......is a straight airflow important? or even possible considering the twists and turns throughtout the entire intake tract??? .........i always laugh at those commercials for the "TORNADO"
    Last edited by sjsingle1; 04-08-2010 at 12:43 AM.

  17. #17
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,998

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    The MAF uses a hot wire to measure air flow. Air flow through the MAF cools this hot wire. The MAF outputs a frequency based on how much current is required to keep the hot wire at a certain temperature. The MAF and computer are precisely calibrated to exactly how much air flows through it vs. its frequency output. If the maf output is 10 Hz and the computer thinks there is 5 grams/sec of air flow, but there is actual more airflow then the your gonna run lean.

  18. #18
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    The MAF uses a hot wire to measure air flow. Air flow through the MAF cools this hot wire. The MAF outputs a frequency based on how much current is required to keep the hot wire at a certain temperature. The MAF and computer are precisely calibrated to exactly how much air flows through it vs. its frequency output. If the maf output is 10 Hz and the computer thinks there is 5 grams/sec of air flow, but there is actual more airflow then the your gonna run lean.
    What he said. That is the "gain" aftermarket mafs give you...not always a good idea with a stock tune

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    1,621

    silver
    2000 formula

    I am getting a SD tune ....................

  20. #20
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by sjsingle1 View Post
    I am getting a SD tune ....................
    why ?

    what are your mods ? what are your goals ....chances are if you are still in the modding stage and such..a SD tune would not be very wise for you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: port and polish TB and MAF?
    By NavdeepWS6 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 11:31 PM
  2. port and polish???
    By gcrippin_iii in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 08:29 AM
  3. Question: port and polish?
    By mark21742 in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 08:23 AM
  4. port and polish
    By SSMOKEshow in forum External Engine
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 06:16 PM
  5. Port and polish
    By arozar in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-24-2006, 02:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •