Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Need advice on what Headers to buy?

This is a discussion on Need advice on what Headers to buy? within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure if your squeezing all that exahust down to a Y-pipe and into a ...

BLACK
    2001 T/A VERT.

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure if your squeezing all that exahust down to a Y-pipe
    and into a catback that your making back pressure.

Still The Junior Member RedVertTA's Avatar

Red+White Top and Stripes
    2000TransAmConvertible A4

Quote Originally Posted by fxgs View Post
    Then get this...........it will solve that little problem:

http://www.mufflex-performance.com/m...tegory_Code=FZ

By the way I have QTP's and I love them
    That's a nice piece.

99' 30th Ann TA

Quote Originally Posted by allbaugh_04 View Post
    Then why do real drag racers use dual cutouts and run open headers...

show me some proof
    Way bigger motors, that put out way more exhaust and take in way more air, and as already mentioned they stay way up in the RPM range...

Does anyone really need to explain that to you???

99' 30th Ann TA

Quote Originally Posted by Too Fast View Post
    Exactly. Show me the proof. I went with Hooker LTs and their ORY, I INCREASED my highway MPG by almost 2.0. Went from almost 26 to over 28 sometimes, no tune yet. I believe my headers are 1 3/4. What the hell is 1/8 inch difference going to do for back pressure.
    I never said you wouldn't increase your MPG when going from stock to 1 3/4... I did as well..

1/8 of an inch obviously makes a dramatic difference if they produce them... with your logic, what would be the point of anyone to ever buy 1 3/4???

They're made/designed for a reason... Unless your gonna bore/stroke a stock LS1 you really have no reason to go above 1 3/4...