Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Motor Mounts.

This is a discussion on Motor Mounts. within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I noticed while removing my Tranny that my motor has ALOT of play in it so i want to replace ...

  1. #1
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Motor Mounts.

    I noticed while removing my Tranny that my motor has ALOT of play in it so i want to replace the mounts. WIll this be easier with the tranny out? What else will i have to remove to get them installed?

  2. #2
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    OMG! Spent most of my dad working on car. First installed Tranny cooler Dope Style beucase of my CAI. Then i mocked up the Torque Arm Bushing. Finally started the Motor mounts. 7 hours later i have half my motor appart and the passagers side in. This is one hard job!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    71

    yellow
    2002 trans am

    Oh its a pain in the ass.
    But i think it was worth it.

    good luck.

  4. #4
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Bla! Had to remove drivers manifold and Cat. Broke Cats studs. Broke on stud on Manifold. Do i have to put them back in before i bolt motor back down? Mount is on block. Mount hole wont line up good enough to put bolt back through so i screw driver is taking its place at the moment. O and my dad Snaped on Mount Bolt in the block so i am only going to be able to run 3 on the drivers side! WHAT A FUCKING BITCH!!!!!! I hope to finish it tommarow. I want to kill myself.


    I did remove EGR and A.I.R. Today though and made custom blockoffs.... Atleast something went right today!

  5. #5
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    What mounts did you go with?

    Do you have a strut tower brace?

  6. #6
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Went with prothane(PTP-7-512BL), No strut tower brace. Yesterday when i finished the passager side both holes lined up.. Now with both mounts in it wont

  7. #7
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    I had the motor out when I did the mounts. And it was STILL a royal pain.

    Good luck, and be patient.


    Do you ever plan on getting a strut tower brace?? If so, ask around about fitment with those prothane mounts. They lift the motor up ever so slightly. I got VERY lucky when I put mine back on after the swap. It didn't crack my FAST intake, just chipped some of the lettering off. I had to space out the brace.

  8. #8
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    DAMN thanks for the heads up. Yeah im not sure if i will be getting one or not. I got other things i need to order first like SFCs.

  9. #9
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    To be honest...the F-Body doesn't need one. It wouldn't make a damn bit of difference.
    Strut tower braces are under the hood appearance mods.

  10. #10
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Luos View Post
    To be honest...the F-Body doesn't need one. It wouldn't make a damn bit of difference.
    Strut tower braces are under the hood appearance mods.
    And good to lean on

    Me and my best friend attempted to put prothane motor mounts on our buddies '01 WS6 2 years ago when we did his motor swap. Easily the worst nightmare I have ever experienced on a 4th gen f-body, and there is next to nothing that I have not personally done on a 4th gen f-body. I have prothane mounts for my Camaro when I do the heads/cam but have serious doubts about attempting them. I am strongly considering doing the drivers side only. We broke one of the studs on the k-member trying to get it to line up. We got so aggravated at them motor mounts, we literally threw them SOB's across the street and they never made it onto the car. Its one of the very very few things I might actually pay someone else to do to my car
    CCW SP 500s 18x10 275/35 18x11 295/35
    SLP CME with GMMG style catback
    Painted manta stripe

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    I'd rather be bi than full homo!!!!

  11. #11
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Well they are both In the Car so im going to make them work... But damn they are a bitch!

    This isnt my first time swapping motor mounts into a car. But these fbodies are a whole different beast from anything ive works on before.

  12. #12
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Do you think losening up the Motor mount to Block bolts might help get the 18 mm lined up?

    and should i get the exhuast manifold in before i bolt the motor down or will it be alright to wait until its bolted down?

  13. #13
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by SStriker View Post
    Do you think losening up the Motor mount to Block bolts might help get the 18 mm lined up?

    and should i get the exhuast manifold in before i bolt the motor down or will it be alright to wait until its bolted down?
    Wait till the motor is bolted down before you put the manifolds back in.

  14. #14
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Y2KPewterSS View Post
    Wait till the motor is bolted down before you put the manifolds back in.
    Alright good. Just wanted to make sure. DIdnt want to bolt the motor down and get everything put back on just to find i have to take it back off to put manifold on.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    71

    yellow
    2002 trans am

    Try lossening thre tranny mount a little. That should give u a little more play to line the bolt up. Don't worry thou you'll get it. Mine were the same way. And i notice u said that u had broke off one of the bolts in the block. i did the same shit.

  16. #16
    Member cobrahunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Bay
    Age
    46
    Posts
    504

    Black
    1998 Camaro Z28

    Check all your motor mounts if you can. A while back, while getting my headers installed, the techs discovered a crack in my block. I took it to the dealership (still under warranty) and they discovered it was due to a faulty/deffective motor mount. Fortunately the decided to cover the costs of a replacement engine. Even though the cause was not technically covered by the warranty, they could tell I'm not abusive to it (my DD). Got a replacement engine w/ 40K miles for $500.

  17. #17
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Got the motor mounts in finnnally. AC compressor and Alternator are back in, belts back on. I have no trans in the car at the moment so it wasnt that. I losened both sides and we just pryed ALOT lol

    I still have to reinstall the manifold but i need to get a new gasket and some studs FIrst...

    There should be a warning lable on those damn Motor mounts!!! lol

  18. #18
    Member F&Ybodlover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    139

    Black
    98 Trans Am

    I think both of my mounts are cracked( was like this when I bought the car last month)

    when I give it some gass off the line..it feels like the engine moves slightly, with the hood open, you can see the engine move on both sides. I've changed tranny mounts on third gens before, nothing to it...figured wasn't that much harder...I guess I was wrong.
    Last edited by F&Ybodlover; 09-28-2007 at 01:59 PM.

  19. #19
    Member F&Ybodlover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    139

    Black
    98 Trans Am

    The only place I can find the whole mount is through the dealer and $95 or through Spohn at $145 http://www.spohn.net/product.cfm?productid=1402



    but I can get polyurethane inserts around $50 from them...I don't know if the bushings are just worn or the housing is cracked.
    Last edited by F&Ybodlover; 09-28-2007 at 02:29 PM.

  20. #20
    Member Castle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orange County, California
    Age
    43
    Posts
    314

    Midnight Blue
    1998 Camaro Z28 A4

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Luos View Post
    To be honest...the F-Body doesn't need one. It wouldn't make a damn bit of difference.
    Strut tower braces are under the hood appearance mods.
    Your input on the LS1 threads here is valuable & a lot of people here know you of all people know your sh!t, but I don't think I agree with you on this one.

    I used to take this really sharp turn in my car at approx 35mph, it felt like the car was about to lose it every time. I added SLP's strut tower brace when I had my skinny 16/45/245's on my car. Everytime I tried that sharp turn after, I was able to bring it up to 45mph comfortably.

    I could be totally wrong &/or loco, but in my opinion, with a car that already corners like crap, everything helps!

    P.S. I just switched up my SLP Tower Brace for the Hotchkis Polished Dual Support Strut Tower Brace, but not sure yet if the new Brace supports my claim even further as my car is in the shop...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. how many motor mounts on a 98 ws6
    By javeryboy in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-19-2014, 06:09 PM
  2. Energy Suspension Motor mounts or prothane mounts
    By Justin23454 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 10:31 AM
  3. motor mounts
    By TransAmFanatic in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 07:01 PM
  4. motor mounts??
    By 02sscamaro in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 01:22 PM
  5. motor mounts ?
    By z71 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 06:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •