Results 1 to 7 of 7

MAF Sensor, do I need to replace??

This is a discussion on MAF Sensor, do I need to replace?? within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I noticed this weekend when driving around, that when going up a steep hill and getting on it a little ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Age
    38
    Posts
    50

    Green
    1996 Firebird Formula

    MAF Sensor, do I need to replace??

    I noticed this weekend when driving around, that when going up a steep hill and getting on it a little bit it feels like it misses/skips every now and then. Now the wires that go to the MAF when idling if you put a small amount of pressure on the wires it will cut the car out for a brief second.

    I don't know if when going up a hill the engine is shifting to one side just enough to move these MAF wires to cut it out for a quick miss or not. What's everyone else think???

    Any help is appreciated.

    Oh yeah its a 95 Z28 LT1 6spd.

  2. #2
    Ricekiller z28punk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Age
    29
    Posts
    509

    Pewter
    2002 Camaro Z28

    u can un-plug it and see if it runs better, if so.....u need a new MAF or replace the wires going to the MAF

    with the MAF un-plugged the car runs off of a speed density calculation to calculate A/F ratio. at least most cars are like this. idk if LT1 is different.

  3. #3
    I have a need for speed! jigger1166's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Standish,Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    560

    Artic White
    00 SS Vert.

    Quote Originally Posted by LT1Gun View Post
    I noticed this weekend when driving around, that when going up a steep hill and getting on it a little bit it feels like it misses/skips every now and then. Now the wires that go to the MAF when idling if you put a small amount of pressure on the wires it will cut the car out for a brief second.

    I don't know if when going up a hill the engine is shifting to one side just enough to move these MAF wires to cut it out for a quick miss or not. What's everyone else think???

    Any help is appreciated.

    Oh yeah its a 95 Z28 LT1 6spd.
    Does the SES(service engine soon) light come on? There should be a trouble code set. Have it checked out.

  4. #4
    I have a need for speed! jigger1166's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Standish,Maine
    Age
    51
    Posts
    560

    Artic White
    00 SS Vert.

    Quote Originally Posted by z28punk View Post
    u can un-plug it and see if it runs better, if so.....u need a new MAF or replace the wires going to the MAF

    with the MAF un-plugged the car runs off of a speed density calculation to calculate A/F ratio. at least most cars are like this. idk if LT1 is different.
    It will run worse, or stall, and set a trouble code if you unplug the MAF sensor.
    Your prob. could be the wire harness, or the MAF. Have it checked by a proffesional. It could save you some money.

  5. #5
    Ricekiller z28punk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Age
    29
    Posts
    509

    Pewter
    2002 Camaro Z28

    It will run worse, or stall, and set a trouble code if you unplug the MAF sensor.
    Your prob. could be the wire harness, or the MAF.
    is that just LT1's that will stall when u unplug it? because thats how i usually start to isolate problems on other cars. i dont work on many LT1's

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Age
    38
    Posts
    50

    Green
    1996 Firebird Formula

    Actually after looking at it a little more closely it looks like one of the wires is loose in the plug that plugs into the MAF. Does anyone know if you can splice in a new plug. I'd splice the one I have but the wire is loose way down inside the plug and wouldn't have enough slack in the wire to resplice. I'll take pics if I get a chance....

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    south ga
    Posts
    7

    red
    2001 ss camaro

    how many miles the car have?..have you ever put a distributor in it, or plug wires?...the skipping under a load is usually an ignition problem...i know those distributors on a LT1 are bad about moisture. i work on a lot of GM vehicles and i've replaced a few LT1 distibutors..but they are not cheep....expect to pay at least $250.00

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Reading trans temp stock sensor vs aftermarket sensor in pan
    By senicalj4579 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 08:41 AM
  2. IAT sensor replace ?
    By doberman 152 in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2008, 06:06 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 03:22 PM
  4. MAF Sensor, do I need to replace it.
    By LT1Gun in forum External Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 09:51 AM
  5. Knock sensor went bad.. How to replace?
    By JehalinTA in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 11:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •