Results 1 to 17 of 17

Maf ?

This is a discussion on Maf ? within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; would i benifit with a aftermarket maf sensor and if so what is the cold air tune i have a ...

  1. #1
    twinstix
    Guest

    Cool Maf ?

    would i benifit with a aftermarket maf sensor and if so what is the cold air tune i have a slp lid is that the same.

  2. #2
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    nope. you wouldnt. leave the maf and tb alone. they can handle upwards of 500hp stock

  3. #3
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Aftermarket MAFs tend to cause problems. The stock MAF is good for 500HP. There is no need to change it.
    CCW SP 500s 18x10 275/35 18x11 295/35
    SLP CME with GMMG style catback
    Painted manta stripe

    Quote Originally Posted by konigandy6 View Post
    I'd rather be bi than full homo!!!!

  4. #4
    twinstix
    Guest

    thanx

    cool thanx

  5. #5
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Y2KPewterSS View Post
    Aftermarket MAFs tend to cause problems. The stock MAF is good for 500HP. There is no need to change it.
    copy cat

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Norristown, PA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    151

    black
    RIP 02 Camaro SS

    I agree to a certain extent. The GMS, and the slp ones I have heard nothing but bad things. However, I bought a Z06 maf, and had it tuned (the tables) by my tuner. I only picked up a few HP, but anything helps. The pre-programed ones just don't seem like a good idea to me.

    also, the stock Z06 maf is about half the price of the aftermarket ones

  7. #7
    Member TACE02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    41
    Posts
    568

    ASC #753
    2002 Collector's Edition

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    nope. you wouldnt. leave the maf and tb alone. they can handle upwards of 500hp stock
    Well not sure on the TB, that is my next upgrade. Just because a part can handle upwards of whatever, doesn't mean you won't benefit from an upgraded one more.

  8. #8
    Just me Y2KPewterSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    42
    Posts
    23,353

    Pewter metallic
    2000 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    copy cat

    I disagree with you on the TB though, people have seen lots of gains/improvements by porting the TB. Most tuners will tell you to leave the MAF alone though.

    Me----> <-----Shady



    I do agree with what Jimmy said as well. If you are going to change the MAF, go with the Z06 MAF. Never really heard anything bad about it, its always the SLP and GMS versions I hear negative feedback about.

  9. #9
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    i use the vinci MAF ends on the wife's car. you still use the stock MAF sensor. here's the dyno results. 2 rwhp peak and 8 rwhp after peak.


  10. #10
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by TACE02 View Post
    Well not sure on the TB, that is my next upgrade. Just because a part can handle upwards of whatever, doesn't mean you won't benefit from an upgraded one more.
    well a slight port and polish..but parting one out for a larger one isnt a good idea.

  11. #11
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    Quote Originally Posted by TACE02 View Post
    Well not sure on the TB, that is my next upgrade. Just because a part can handle upwards of whatever, doesn't mean you won't benefit from an upgraded one more.
    thats what i thought until i talked with the tuner from speed inc. he said not to even waste my money on 1-2 h.p
    also texas speed stopped selling ported throttle bodys for the same reason
    2000 nhra edition formula
    a few bolt ons, 379 rwhp
    11.96 @113.25

  12. #12
    Member TACE02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    41
    Posts
    568

    ASC #753
    2002 Collector's Edition

    I am not thinking about a ported one. Well I am going with more than just TB too though. I am getting the 90/90 setup. And I kinda think if you allready are over 400 to the wheels, well even upgrading to a 80mm TB alone will net you more than 1-2 over the stock TB.

  13. #13
    Senior Member 35thAnniZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,809

    eating bulldog
    son of biscuit

    just port and polish the stock one

  14. #14
    MOTOR CITY MARO' SSTODD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LIVONIA,MICHIGAN
    Age
    51
    Posts
    786

    PEWTER
    2000 CAMARO SS #3821

    I just removed my slp maf for the stocker after setting lean codes. This is the second time I have had the codes since installing it last year. I did not have this sites wisdom before the purchase.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    2

    white
    2000 Pontiac Grand Am

    Interestingly, many people in the V6 tuning crowd have noticed the same things you guys have on our engines...

    Bigger TB offers very little gain until you have cam/heads/headers. Also messing with the MAF often just causes problems.

    I have a granitelli MAF I bought used to try out on my 3400 v6 grand am. It's an LT1 unit that they "tweak" to work for the grand am. It doesn't idle well though and everyone else I know that's tried it had problems too. Seems when they "tweak" it, they can't get it to exactly replicate the output of the stock MAF, so the actual airflow vs Hz doesn't match whats in the pcm file.

    I've been wanting to swap out my GMS for a stock LS1 MAF. I have a pcm flash tuner and a file with the LS1 MAF values for '00-'02. I just have to get the correct MAF. After some searching it seems that the 03+ MAF is different from earlier LS1 MAF, is that correct? The new one is a 5 wire, so is the old one a 3 wire like the LT1 MAF? I think the one I need is part #25179711. Anyone know if the connector on that is the same as the LT1? If anyone knows the pinouts or can post a connector end view for the harness/maf that would be great too. Lot of questions I know, but I appreciate any help I can get.

  16. #16
    Grand Imperial Wizard Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Texas Department of Corrections
    Posts
    18,129
    Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

    Leave the stock one alone.....
    This is my signature. It is mine. Nobody else has one like it.

  17. #17
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarge View Post
    Leave the stock one alone.....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •