Midnight blue metallic
    1999 Trans Am

Lightbulb LT header questions..

Gentlemen, I've found myself seriously considering long tube headers with matching catted y pipe for my ride. I find it to be the next logical step in my endless hunt for more power. Installation shouldn't be a problem, I'm a professional mechanic, therefore i have access to almost every possible tool, and a lift.

I've read all your posts, done some research on various systems, but now I'm interested in your experiences, before I buy. I'm fairly set on stainless steel LT headers AND emissions legal y pipe, because I only want to do this once.

Car is a DD '99 Trans Am with very basic mods, Magnaflow, SLP 'lid, shift kit, that's about it, no real street terror here, it's not, nor will it be a race car.

Can anyone recommend a particular system, made of stainless, or a way to peice a system together using stainless parts? I'd really like to keep price around a g-note, for the whole system, give or take, from heads to muffler inlet pipe.

Considering Supermaxx, or any other system I can piece together like that, made of stainless steel, AND emission legal. No SES lights,banging on floorpans, rattles OR comprimises. Quality is of more importance than price. I'll spend a little more, if i get a little more.

Also, on a side note, I'm thinking header wrap might be a good idea, yes? or no?

member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar

black
    2000 nhra edition formula

header wrap, no.
    if anything have the headers coated with cermanic.
    as for stainless headers, hooker makes a decent stainless header at a good price.
    ses codes can pop up with any brand long tube. headers change the a/f ratio.
    also all brands y pipes will sometimes bang. just heat up the y pipe and bend it alittle and problem solved, its no big deal.
    btw, my car has no cats and im emissions legal
    a few bolt ons, 379 rwhp
    11.96 @113.25

Midnight blue metallic
    1999 Trans Am