Hugger Orange/W stripes
    1999 Z28 M6

LS1 Radiator plug leak

Well I'm a couple of weeks into this 99 Z28 and I noticed I have a coolant leak. The heater core is leaking (will replace), but the biggest drip is from the drain cock on the radiator. I crawled under and I see about a three inch section of hose with the drain plug at the end and a standard band/screw adjust hose clamp securing it. Tightening the clamp made the drip a stream, so I did some adjustment to the plug and got it down to only a drip here and there. I bought a new plug, but I'm not sure about the short piece of hose. It doesn't look like a OEM type setup.

Being I'm new to the LS1 and I have GM manuals on the way - but not here yet - I have to ask:

Is this the "normal" setup, or did the previous owner maybe have a screwed up petcock and fabricate something to save having to replace a radiator? Not knowing this particular setup, I am curious. If there is some sort of "rebuild" kit for a common problem on the radiator drain, I'd obviously be interested. No cooling problems, and my first clue was the dash warning light for low coolant. Apparently a cup/pint low sets it off.

Any help/info is appreciated,

John

Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar

Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

That sounds a lil odd. Your best bet is to drain the coolant so your not working against getting soaked then take "assembly apart". Who knows what the guy befor you did. Then try and make it right, picture would be great
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

Hugger Orange/W stripes
    1999 Z28 M6

Quote Originally Posted by sunsetorangess
    That sounds a lil odd. Your best bet is to drain the coolant so your not working against getting soaked then take "assembly apart". Who knows what the guy befor you did. Then try and make it right, picture would be great
    Thanks,

I plan on doing just that. If I can't figure it out, I take a photo and post it.