Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree2Likes

jake brake 2002 camaro v6

This is a discussion on jake brake 2002 camaro v6 within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by Spikito since diesels run on compression alone, the valve timing is adjusted so that compression is never ...

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Quote Originally Posted by Spikito View Post
    since diesels run on compression alone, the valve timing is adjusted so that compression is never allowed to build, resulting in no compression, if the same were done in a gasoline engine, the spark plug would still fire, and combustion would still occur, it would just all blow out the exhaust
    I know how a diesel works I've been a heavy hauler mechanic and that is not exactly how a "jake" brake works but close. That distinctive rapping sound is really the compressed charge being released (through the use of electrical solenoids) on the compression stroke. Before any fuel has been added, the charge is under very high pressure and is being allowed to escape only through a very small hole, causing that rapping sound. Without compression in a gasoline engine combustion would likely not accure and the plug would likely be fouled. I can't comment on smaller diesels as I've never worked on one like in cars and pickups.

The point is this has nothing to do with this thread or the issue the poster is having.
    Last edited by Smittro; 11-30-2012 at 04:50 AM. Reason: Added to

Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    Curious FBJ. Is this the same for the throttle by wire cars? Because that is what the 2002 3800 is? My 2001 throttle by wire never acted in this way.
    Yes sir, my 2004 6.0 is drive-by-wire and it also has the DFCO tables in the tune.
    Smittro likes this.

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post