Metallic Navy Blue
    1998 Trans Am

Im an exhaust rookie :-)

As the title says, I dont have much experience with exhaust, mainly headers, y pipes and cats. I have full intentions of buying a set of headers for my 98 TA this summer, but anytime I buy new parts I always get as much info as I can, so I have some q's:

1. What is the difference (save for price) between shorties and long tubes?
    2. If the only aftermarket exhaust part I have is a magnaflow muffler, can I
    install headers and still keep the factory y pipe and factory cats?
    3. I've been reading up some posts here and I keep hearing about issues with
    the O2 sensors, Im hoping someone can shed some light on exactly what
    the deal is with them?
    4. Referring to q # 2, is it a good idea to install headers using factory y pipe
    and cats? Will I rob myself of sound or performance by keeping them, or
    do, say, an offroad y pipe and/or high flow cats simply give even bigger
    gains?

Two things I also need to consider are purchasing parts that are 50 state legal so I can always pass emissions tests. I dont have any 'hook ups' so to speak where I could pass inspection. I also dont have a gigantic wallet, so whats a good..not necessarily 'budget' header, but ones that are good bang for the buck? I read a lot of posts about Pacesetters, but they usually are accompanied by "$500-$600", which really is out of my range unfortunately. Are there decent headers for LS1's by Hooker or Headman? Thanks!

05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

You're in cali so the only smog legal headers are shorties...which you can keep the stock cats and y-pipe for. You can get coated pacesetter shorties from summit and thunderracing for $429(don't buy them from pacesetter directly, they want 650 for them). I'm in cali also and am going with coated shorties and random tech y-pipe with high-flow cats from thunderracing.com