Results 1 to 13 of 13

How difficult to install ASP underdrive pulley.

This is a discussion on How difficult to install ASP underdrive pulley. within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Besides the pulley and the belt, is the anything else I need? Some where I heard a new bolt??? Where ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member KIXASS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    MARYLAND
    Posts
    97

    How difficult to install ASP underdrive pulley.

    Besides the pulley and the belt, is the anything else I need? Some where I heard a new bolt??? Where would I get it or what kind? Also, are there any special tricks or tools to help with the ease of installation?

    I appreciate any and all the tips I can get.

    THANKS!!

  2. #2
    CAMARO not Maro asshead! HASTINGSRJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    MASSHOLE in Jville NC
    Age
    44
    Posts
    2,012

    Black/Gray
    00 SS Vert#0540/ 03 GMC

    you can order an ASP underdrive from Thunder Racing, TX speed, Speed Inc, or any one of the board sponsors.

    You will need a 3 prong pulley puller, you can pick that up at Sears $40.00 if I remember correctly (been a while since I bought mine)

    The new pulley should come with belts as well as a new crank bolt. Make sure you follow the instructions included with the pulley. If the pulley doesnt come with a new crank bolt, just go to your local GM auto dealer, parts dept, they are about $6.00 I believe. Other than that, its pretty simple to do....hope that helped

    rob

    http://www.gmhightechperformance.com...aro/index.html
    Black 00 SS M6, vert, #0540 414 C.I. iron block 501hp 448tq -slipping clutch
    old times 11.39@123 tuned by RPM
    11.49run


    DD 03 GMC Sierra, Durmax CCSB 2500, 17" XD's, 5" tubo back exhaust, AFE intake, EFI Live, DSP5, 3" body lift, tuned by Diesel Addiction 347hp 645tq

    rwhp.us

  3. #3
    Junior Member KIXASS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    MARYLAND
    Posts
    97
    Why can't you use the stock bolt?

  4. #4
    LoudMouth SStriker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Westminster/Sykesville, Maryland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    512

    Red
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by KIXASS View Post
    Why can't you use the stock bolt?
    Its my understanding that when they are torqued the bolt stretches and twists some. So it cant be reused.

  5. #5
    Junior Member KIXASS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    MARYLAND
    Posts
    97
    That makes sense.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JonB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,458

    Black
    2005 GTO

    You can rent a 3 prong puller from autozone, unless you just want to add some tools to your toolbox. Alot of people use the old bolt to start the pulley and get it seated then put the new bolt in and set the proper torque.
    05 PBM GTO
    Cold Air Inductions CAI,
    Relocated IAT with omega,
    Slp Predator tune,
    Flowmaster axle back with H pipe,
    Custom tuned TCM.
    BC Racing coil overs


    Sold 01 z28

  7. #7
    Senior Member INMY01TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The great red state of MD.
    Posts
    5,755

    Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

    If I remember right, you have to remove the radiator to get the pulley off. Might be wrong, been a while and the radiator had to come out for the cam install anyway. I would use a pulley installer tool of some sort myself, like this: http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=391883

  8. #8
    Junior Member KIXASS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    MARYLAND
    Posts
    97
    If the radiator has to come out, then I might as well just wait and have it installed when I do the cam.

  9. #9
    Senior Member INMY01TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The great red state of MD.
    Posts
    5,755

    Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

    Actually I think I'm wrong. Don't think it has to come out now that I think about it. I'd get that tool tho. I know people that have messed up their crank threads pulling the pulley on with a crank bolt, big headache.

  10. #10
    Life in the Fast lane sunsetorangess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Bragg NC
    Posts
    2,835

    Met. Sunset Orange
    01 SS

    As far as the bolt, It does stretch so it is a one time use bolt, just like the head bolts. If your using a "deep throat Puller" Dont let the puller contact the crank otherwise it may damage the threads, instead use a socket or an adapter inbetween, the two.
    J
    2001 SS, Its not the car its the Driver that matters....

  11. #11
    Member Ripper415's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NY
    Age
    32
    Posts
    378

    Pewter
    2002 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by KIXASS View Post
    If the radiator has to come out, then I might as well just wait and have it installed when I do the cam.
    i dont think the radiator has to come out, but if you're putting in a new cam you should wait to install the pulley anyway. everyone says its MUCH easier to do then.

  12. #12
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    use an install tool and eliminate the possibility of stripping your crank threads. Easy to make and costs less than $20. Just need some metric all-thread, washers, and 3 bolts. I'll have to look to make sure but I *think* the all-thread is 16mm x 2.0 pitch. If you decide to do it the safe way let me know and I'll verify that size but I think that's it. I have some all thread in the shed I can cut and send you but I don't know how many bolts I have left.

  13. #13
    Senior Member JonB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,458

    Black
    2005 GTO

    The radiator does not have to come out to do the pulley.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Underdrive pulley install question
    By KDZRGROWN in forum External Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-2008, 12:24 PM
  2. Underdrive Pulley
    By Sarge in forum GTO
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 12:24 PM
  3. Underdrive Pulley-Does It Need OD Alternator Pulley
    By Eddie 70 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 09:23 AM
  4. underdrive pulley install question
    By tx77015ls1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 09:06 PM
  5. Squealing noise after underdrive pulley install...
    By bbfirebird in forum External Engine
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2005, 02:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •