pewter
    2000 CAMARO SS

Headers or find a way to remove cats???

Sup everybody!!

I have a 2000 SS M6. I have been contemplating on Long Tube headers for about 3-4 months now. I think I have completely talked myself in and out of them 30 times. The only reason I haven't bought them is justifying the cost to do it right the first time.

I am looking for advice to go one way or another so any input is greatly appreciated. Here is my breakdown of what has my head spinning in all different directions.

Ideal method:

1. Pacesetter long tubes (ceramic coated) including non-coated y-pipe. ($530)
    2. OEM metal header gaskets. ($25)
    3. Stage 8 locking header bolts. ($52)
    4. 3 stainless band clamps ($40)
    5. MSD wires ($65)
    6. NGKtr55 plugs ($17)
    7. Computer tune ($100)

Grand total: $829.00

Would I still need o2 extenstions as well if my tune would delete the check engine light?? If so thats another 50-60 bucks.

So basically $900 bucks out the door for everything I need to so the install myself. This is gonna give me 25 rwhp and the sound I need to live a happy life

On the other hand, the main goal I am trying to accomplish is to get the cats off so I can be louder. I am happy with the power but the stock manifolds with a borla catback just doesn't give me the growl I need.

I have not found a place that sells a direct bolt on y-pipe or custom pipes that will connect directly to my stock exhaust manifolds. Do you know of a part/place/etc.. that can sell me a pipe that will allow me to remove my cats. Most y-pipes only work with a set of headers and still leave the cats in place. I'm not really interested in doing the whole 'hollow out my cat' deal.

So if you are just after volume.... long tubes or find a way to delete the cats???

Thanks guys!

Black
    1998 Trans Am