2002 TA

Exhaust questions....

I'm still new to the LS1's, but after looking at a few headers and such.... why is it that it usually comes off the header as a Y and if you want dual exhaust it is usually fake dual at the end, or am I missing something here? Do they make X or H pipes for these cars? What about just simply true duals? Is there not much difference in sound and performance? I would think fitting an X or just true duals straight back would be more beneficial? Are there clearance issues?....

Pewter
    1999 Camaro SS-M6 #1775

Making room for the pipe and clearance issues.
    1999 Camaro SS/ Pewter/ #1775 - LS1 6-speed - Predator 3 Custom Tune - Pro 5.0 - LS7 Clutch - 3.90's - Koni's - Strano Springs and Sway Bars - SFC's - Full UMI Chassis and Suspension - LS6 Intake PnP TB - ARH LT's and Kitty Ran Away - Magnaflow.

12.6 at 112

http://www.fquick.com/Tyler_LS1

2002 TA

So what do most people do? Y pipe into true duals? Does anyone do True Duals all the way back?

Black
    2002 Trans am WS6

Quote Originally Posted by Pythias View Post
    So what do most people do? Y pipe into true duals? Does anyone do True Duals all the way back?
    yeah i was plannin on getting hooker lts, with the texas speed True duals, im getting them dumped tho

2002 TA

I've heard dumped makes it louder inside and quieter outside, maybe its because I'm used to mid pipes and such but I don't think I'd do a Y pipe into fake duals, I'd do true duals all the way back no matter how expensive

Black
    2000 Camaro SS

That is the thing to do!!!! GO WITH TRUE DUALS, OVER THE AXLE AND OUT THE BACK!!!!!!!.

SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

Most catback systems run from the Y-pipe as a large diameter single pipe, and then split off into 2 pipes out the back of the car. Thats the setup most people have.