Thread: exhaust cut-out

White
    2002 Trans Am WS6

exhaust cut-out

Hey whats goin on. I have a flowmaster on my 02 ws6 now and its just not loud enough. I was wondering if a cut out would also help with horsepower along with making it very loud. Thanks

1 BAD ASS BOWTIE StangKiller615's Avatar

Black on Black
    2001 Camaro SS

Quote Originally Posted by SLDWS6 View Post
    Hey whats goin on. I have a flowmaster on my 02 ws6 now and its just not loud enough. I was wondering if a cut out would also help with horsepower along with making it very loud. Thanks
    You will get minimal power gains. mayby 10-15 at the most. It will defiently sound louder and alot meaner, you basically running open headers. If you want the full effect add long tube headers. LT headers will give you an additional 30+ horses. If you don't want to add headers or a cut-out, you can put the SLP Loud Mouth exhaust on. I would ditch the FlowMaster as they are not that good of a exhaust for F-Bodys.

Black
    94 Camaro Z28

I concur, my flowmasters are killing me. (They came with the car. They used to sound damn good and loud, but the LT headers quieted the car down). I am looking at the loudmouths with the CME exhaust.
    As far as the cutouts, they don't do much because they eliminate almost all backpressure in the engine. This is good to an extent, but engines need a little backpressure to perform at optimum potential. You'll get the sound (too loud to drive around with all the time though) you're looking for but not the performance gains. You'll get better gains with a good full-exhaust setup.

CME BABY!
    Click for full size

Navy Blue Metallic
    '99 T/A WS6 M6

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by StangKiller615 View Post