Results 1 to 9 of 9

Do I need a computer tune?

This is a discussion on Do I need a computer tune? within the External Engine forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Have a 99 T/A with full bolt on, minus long tubes headers. I 'am about to put long tubes on ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    2

    Black
    1999 TA

    Do I need a computer tune?

    Have a 99 T/A with full bolt on, minus long tubes headers.
    I 'am about to put long tubes on and I was needing to know if I will have to tune.

    Thanks Gearheadbob

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    do you HAVE to tune, no. should you, yes. i ran around for a while with stock tune and most bolt ons.

  3. #3
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    agreed with above.
    2000 nhra edition formula
    a few bolt ons, 379 rwhp
    11.96 @113.25

  4. #4
    Member Capster78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Newport News Va
    Age
    39
    Posts
    578

    Silver
    1998 WS6 M6

    I really dont see a need to tune your car untill you get a Cam. The computer usually will adjust for boltons. You will pull out a few extra ponies but is that really worth the cost of dyno tuning.. Not in my opinion.

  5. #5
    Tech Junkie hammertime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belleville, IL
    Posts
    400

    Pewter Metallic
    2001 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Capster78
    I really dont see a need to tune your car untill you get a Cam. The computer usually will adjust for boltons. You will pull out a few extra ponies but is that really worth the cost of dyno tuning.. Not in my opinion.
    Good point. If you plan to get a cam, or heads and cam, down the road, you will definitely need to tune then. If headers is the last mod you want to do for a while, you will get some modest gains from a tune, but as stated it is not mandatory.

  6. #6
    Bombguy99Z28
    Guest
    The computer will adjust for part throttle conditions, the computer will not adjust for wot conditions. You would basically be hoping that the car will run somewhere within the acceptable A/F ratios (12.5-13.5) but the computer ultimately cannot do much about that without tuning.

    The more mods you do without tuning, generally the more horsepower you leave unusable. You wouldn't neccessarily need a dyno tune, but having a friend or something make sure you are ballpark is a good idea.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NH
    Age
    34
    Posts
    73

    Red
    2000 SS

    I agree that a tune is not required...but it is a good thing. Get a MAF tranlator.....its not as effective a as a full dyno tune but you can adjust the MAF signal to get ur car operating at a better A/F ratio if you have a way to monitor your o2 voltage and/or knock retard. I use a scanmaster for that.

  8. #8
    Member keliente's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    723
    99 Firebird Formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Capster78
    I really dont see a need to tune your car untill you get a Cam. The computer usually will adjust for boltons. You will pull out a few extra ponies but is that really worth the cost of dyno tuning.. Not in my opinion.
    I disagree. Unless you plan on adding a cam like...next week, then get a tune. Adding headers I made 339hp and 342 ft/lbs tq. After a tune, 351hp and 355 ft/lbs tq. I gained almost as much from the tune as I did from the headers alone. I also like knowing that my air fuel ratios & timing is as good as it can be, so that I am not missing out on any power.

    I mean heck the least you can do is a mail order tune, which run around $150. Experienced tuners have seen every bolt-on setup in the book and can get you pretty damn close to what you'd see on a dyno.

  9. #9
    Member denegrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    181

    midnight blue metalic
    2001 camaro z28

    any one out there could any one tell me where the computer is located , the one that controls the coolant fans?????
    id really appreciate it as im trying to trouble shoot cooling system and its imperitive in 100 degree weather that at a minimum the fans will run especially at idle at stop lights traffic jams ect. Knowing the fans don't even come on till after boiling temperature. Just don't want to melt my aluminum engine
    any
    one id appreciate it please

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. computer tune?
    By Black 98 formula ws6 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 06:11 AM
  2. computer tune
    By kamahlwolf in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 10:08 PM
  3. computer tune
    By rb agee in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-27-2006, 02:51 PM
  4. Map computer or tune
    By Dayak in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-2006, 07:10 AM
  5. Computer Re-Learn / Re-tune
    By ss~zoso~ss in forum General Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-28-2006, 10:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •