• Volant CAI

7 43.75%
  • SLP Full "Cold Air Package"

9 56.25%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    1999 Trans AM Firebird

Which CAI should I get?

I have a stock '99 Black Trans AM M6 and I was just recently looking into some cheap and easy modifications for some horsepower gains.

I looked around on some sites to find a good intake and found the SLP "Flopack" Cold Air Package. As a package you save about $30-ish over buying the parts individually and it fits my budget, it also claims gains of about 25 HP. I looked up each individual product from the package and that claim seemed to be a bit modest if anything, but I am new to the car modding scene. The package includes; the SLP Cold-Air Induction Kit, High-Flow Air-Box Lid, F-Body Smooth Bellows, and Black Wing Air Filter.

Then, after looking around a bit on these forums, I found that a lot of people have great things to say about the Volant CAI. So, I looked it up on the site and it claims gains of up to 15 RWHP, for about the same price as the full package that SLP offers.

SLP "Flopack" Cold Air Package - http://www.lmperformance.com/2909/1.html

Volant CAI - http://www.lmperformance.com/2387/1.html

Also, I am planning to install whatever I get myself, and I wanted to know what is involved with the installation and how easy it may be. If there are any guides out there to aid me in the installation of these things, I would appreciate the links.

Thanks a lot ahead of time
    -Dan
    Last edited by Facesmelt; 06-03-2008 at 02:16 PM. Reason: Moving back to this thread, ugh.

Red
    98 T/A M6 w/lid and LM1

imo none. there are better things for the money. just get a simple lid, whichever you like the looks of the most.

Black
    1999 Trans AM Firebird

Quote Originally Posted by Speed Psychosis View Post
    imo none. there are better things for the money. just get a simple lid, whichever you like the looks of the most.
    Well, I am just getting into modifying my car and I am open to some suggestions.