Pewter
    2002 Camaro Z28

got any tips for driving an m6 vette?

i am in the GM ASEP mechanics program and the mechanic i am aprenticing with at the dealership is the master corvette mechanic in the area. awesome for an 18 yr old motorhead right?

heres my problem. i am not very good at driving a stick yet and i have noticed the corvettes are a little more touchy with working the clutch. i do drive them a lot and i would like to be able to look like i know what im doing in front of the service bay. can anyone give me some tips on how to drive them more smoothly? i am still trying to talk my service manager into letting me practice with one of the vettes on the lot.

thanks everyone.

White
    98 Corvette Coupe

Actually, Corvettes are some of the easiest manual transmission cars to drive. They have a docile side that makes them easy to manage in all kinds of traffic situations and there is that beast waiting to be unleashed once traffic clears.

I have had two Corvettes, both manuals. One was an 04 Z06 and the other a 98 Coupe. The clutches in both cars are similar in operation. I find that you can actually let the clutch out without any throttle application if you are on a relatively flat surface. What I recommend you do is to start the car and then without touching the throttle, slowly let the clutch out to find out where it engages on that particular car. Once you know that you just apply the throttle lightly once the clutch begins to engage, let it out completely and you are on your way smoothly.