qwik3r

WTF did i break now? grinding sputtering...

Ok was going down the road did a 2nd gear drop and all hell broke lose. As i was slowing down a horrible grinding sound occured, it sounded like it could have been my torque arm which i have broken quite a few times.

So yeah now on the way home the car is bouncing horribly from the rear like i'm on a friggen ride.

Now on the way home slowing down from like 40mph there is a horrible grinding which sounds like its coming from the right rear. I am not a mechanic but i have broken quite a few things on this car so i immediately checked the torque arm.

All the bolts were fine, nothing looked bent, everything else seemed ok, calipers were not loose.

Driving normal everything is ok except for the bouncing the grinding is not there etc, and its not there slowing down from say 20 or 30, just higher speeds like 40 and abrupt stops.

I am going to have someone look at it but if i can get a heads up please let me know. Thanks

99 Firebird Formula

Sounds like something in the rear end let loose. I don't advise driving it much further unless you're going directly to the shop...

qwik3r
    possibly that would suck ass though but i don't know how that could be its a moser 12 bolt. Plus that doesn't explain the bouncing up and down does it? Even if the pumpkin exploded the car shouldn't be bouncing up and down in the back...

Blog Entries

09 EclipseGT 75 Chevy 4x4
    2001 Trans-Am 13 F-XT

You could have blown a posi unit. I did that a couple of times and it made for some weird driving with the debri flying around in the rear end.

qwik3r
    Quote Originally Posted by Hot Black Trans-Am
    You could have blown a posi unit. I did that a couple of times and it made for some weird driving with the debri flying around in the rear end.

What kind of rear did you have? What did you do to blow the posi, was it a single event or it just happened? Can you describe the driving problems you experiences alittle more in depth?