Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Wiring help on no2

This is a discussion on Wiring help on no2 within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Since the nitrous forum is basically dead and its not really all about no2 i guess ill post it here. ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    Wiring help on no2

    Since the nitrous forum is basically dead and its not really all about no2 i guess ill post it here. I have a zex kit i dont know which kind etc, i just know its a 150 shot dry kit. Well my main question is the wiring part. I know how to wire the ground and power, but there is a white wire that i was told goes to the throttle body for WOT sensor. The problem is i dont know exactly which wire coming off the throttle body to wire it to. If anyone has some pictures that would probably be the easiest way to doing it. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    I think you need a micro switch mounted near the TB so that the TB cam hit it at WOT.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    what exactly is that?

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    I think you need a micro switch mounted near the TB so that the TB cam hit it at WOT.
    this is what I was thinking but I believe some kits use the tps voltage for WOT.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    this is what I was thinking but I believe some kits use the tps voltage for WOT.
    My buddy told me just to wire it to the throttle body position switch or something like that, there is a button on the ZEX box that u press when u are setting it up for WOT. He said all u do is have someone hold the pedal to the floor and then press the button while its on and it reads the voltage its putting out and remembers the position so it knows when to spray. My MAIN question is whut wire is that? Is it the blue one that goes to the TB?

  6. #6
    Exalted Cyclops 67CamaroRSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,824

    2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

    FWIW: Nitrous Oxide is N2O not NO2. 2 atoms of Nitrogen with 1 atom of oxygen. The oxygen atom gets utlized during combustion and provides the extra power.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by 67CamaroRSSS View Post
    FWIW: Nitrous Oxide is N2O not NO2. 2 atoms of Nitrogen with 1 atom of oxygen. The oxygen atom gets utlized during combustion and provides the extra power.
    lol whatever that doesnt really solve my problem.. but thanks

  8. #8
    Exalted Cyclops 67CamaroRSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,824

    2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunatikgixxer View Post
    lol whatever that doesnt really solve my problem.. but thanks
    Sorry, I didn't mean that as a slight. Just trying to straighten out the terminology.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    lol ok thanks. Its probably good you said that now i wont look like a jackass, lol.

  10. #10
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    You want the dark blue wire at the Throttle Position Sensor

  11. #11
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    Would this be it? It appears to be 3 wires, a Black one, a Whiteish one, and a Dark Blue one. Correct me if im wrong here.



  12. #12
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    thats the one!

  13. #13
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    thanks man! just wanted to make sure!

  14. #14
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    I have another question.. Im having a hard time finding somewhere to hook the toggle switch up for the power wire... What is the best place to hook it up at? My switches are in the ashtray.

  15. #15
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    have you used the extra spots in the fuse panel yet? If not put a quarter inch spade connector and use one of those spots.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    which fuse panel? the one on the inside of the door? Well everything is hooked up now and i spliced into the power wire that runs to the lighter since it was the closest thing and it keeps blowing the fuse for that every time i turn the switch on so i guess ill have to re run the power wire tomorrow

  17. #17
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    Orion, i did what you told me. I ran the power wire to the panel and left them plugged in, then about 2 hours later i went out to leave and go to work and my car was dead... Do i need to put a relay or something like that between the switch and the fuse panel. Im not very good when it comes to toggle switches. Also, i dont think my switches were working correctly, i think the nitrous box was getting direct power because the light was on the whole time and when i hit the switch to on/off it didnt go off it just stayed on, so i think it was getting continuous power and the toggle switch wasnt doing shit... What is wrong here...

  18. #18
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    on my 98 I have 2 available spots in that panel...one of them i switched for sure because it's the one I used for my wideband. I'll have to look and see which one it is.....it may not be the same on the later models though.
    Without being there to look at your set up I'm not sure what you have going on there. Did you have to wire the toggle in yourself? It sounds like you don't have it wired correctly but it's pretty hard to wire a toggle switch wrong.

  19. #19
    Senior Member Lunatikgixxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    St Pete, FL
    Posts
    1,429

    Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

    i read a little write up on ls1tech in a section for the notrious and hooking them up. I think i know exactly what the problem is. I will try to fix it after work today. Thanks for the help though, ill let u know if i fix it.

  20. #20
    Member Leeroyws6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fort worth
    Posts
    151

    black
    2000 trans am ws6 a4

    i wouldnt run power through the switch anyway.just run power from battery directly to the solonoid with an inline 10 amp fuse,then to complete the circuit,use the toggle switch to complete the ground circuit to turn on the system.much safer and better to use switches to complete the ground circuit instead of power circuits.just a suggestion though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring
    By legacyy21 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 07:42 AM
  2. NEED 1/0 wiring kit
    By claytonr in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 05:50 PM
  3. NEED 1/0 wiring kit
    By claytonr in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 10:46 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 10:41 AM
  5. Ftp Wiring Help!!
    By rx7nam in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2007, 03:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •