Results 1 to 11 of 11

Weird rough idle issue.

This is a discussion on Weird rough idle issue. within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey all, After I do a cold start, and the car warms a bit, if I drive the car, and ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Weird rough idle issue.

    Hey all,

    After I do a cold start, and the car warms a bit, if I drive the car, and the car hasnt totally come to full operating temperature, and I come to a stop for more than 30 or so seconds the idle gets really rough, and the idle kicks up for a moment, comes back down, and the roughness goes away. The tach rpm speed stays the same for the idle (except for the short moment it goes up and back down).

    No codes, the tuner did give the o2s more time to warm up before the computer tripped a code because of the LT headers.

    I have Seafoamed it since the problem showed up, in case of something gumming up the works, and I cleaned the throttle body. Air hoses and connectors are all attached, and MAF screen has been cleaned since.

    Anyone got ideers?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Naaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    1,337

    Cayanne
    98 Z28 Vert M6

    IAC?
    Lid, Throttle Body, LS6 Intake, Heads, Cam, Magnaflow, LS7 Clutch, SFCs, STB, Panhard Bar, Strano Springs, Hollow Sway Bars, Poly/Roto LCAs, Konis, MGW Shifter

  3. #3
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Quote Originally Posted by Naaman View Post
    IAC?
    Thats what I was thinking at first but wouldn't it set off a code?

  4. #4
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,201

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    Not necessarily, I had a broken MAP sensor and an 8" vacuum leak that didn't trip any codes.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    Not necessarily, I had a broken MAP sensor and an 8" vacuum leak that didn't trip any codes.
    Is there anything special to changing an IAC these days? On my old TPI, it was replace IAC, and drive for 30 minutes so the computer will learn the new motor setup. Do we need to do anything more than that now?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Naaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    1,337

    Cayanne
    98 Z28 Vert M6

    In my case, it was a broken o-ring. Replacing that solved the problem. I do believe that it could throw a code, but I don't remember whether I was getting a code when I had the issue (I think I was, because otherwise, I probably would not have been able to isolate it to the IAC... didn't even know what an IAC was, honestly).

    As for the valve itself, it appears to just be bolted/screwed into the throttle body, with the sensor plugged into it's other side.

    Looks simple to me (which is saying something

  7. #7
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Quote Originally Posted by Naaman View Post
    In my case, it was a broken o-ring. Replacing that solved the problem. I do believe that it could throw a code, but I don't remember whether I was getting a code when I had the issue (I think I was, because otherwise, I probably would not have been able to isolate it to the IAC... didn't even know what an IAC was, honestly).

    As for the valve itself, it appears to just be bolted/screwed into the throttle body, with the sensor plugged into it's other side.

    Looks simple to me (which is saying something
    As long as I dont need to do anything with the computer when I swap out the IAC, I can certainly swap the IAC out. Driving for 30 minutes isnt an issue for the me. I just want to make sure that I do it right.

  8. #8
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,201

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    nope just need a torx bit to remove the screws. I usually clean out the hole it goes in if I see a lot of oil build up.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    nope just need a torx bit to remove the screws. I usually clean out the hole it goes in if I see a lot of oil build up.
    Awesome, thanks for the confirmation.

    Why would you think you would see a lot of oil buildup on an LS1? Its not like the PCV system should have a catch can or anything on it.

  10. #10
    I like turtles GTP231's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Corn and Soybean fields
    Posts
    5,371

    Gray/ White
    10 Impreza 83 Thunderturd

    Get a can of 2+2 and spray around the intake manifold gasket area and all vacuum lines as well to rule out any vacuum leaks
    83 Thunderturd even bigger turd probably LQ4 4L80 swap at some point
    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    the guys here know how to find a nekkid chick farting into a cake but 2+2 stumps the shit out of 'em.
    Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    My brain must be defective.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zapper2003 View Post
    Says the king of mockery and shit talking

  11. #11
    Senior Member Whamhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bel Air, Maryland
    Posts
    1,071

    Silver
    '02 Trans Am WS-6, 6M

    Quote Originally Posted by GTP231 View Post
    Get a can of 2+2 and spray around the intake manifold gasket area and all vacuum lines as well to rule out any vacuum leaks
    Ive done that once since the problem began, when I Seafoamed the car, didn't see anything but it wont hurt to do it again.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Rough Idle
    By 1WickedWS6 in forum GM Trucks
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 08:16 AM
  2. Help: intermittant rough idle, off idle hesitation
    By Matto4785 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 05:12 AM
  3. rough idle
    By bottlefed98 in forum General Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 06:40 PM
  4. weird idle issue
    By occamaroz in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 07:13 PM
  5. rough idle
    By 98redbird in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2005, 09:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •