Results 1 to 9 of 9

VATS Resisitor bypass

This is a discussion on VATS Resisitor bypass within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I measured across my key and got back 3006 Ohms of resistance. I read that the specified resistance for this ...

  1. #1
    CrapMaster samson_420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Coolidge AZ
    Posts
    167

    VATS Resisitor bypass

    I measured across my key and got back 3006 Ohms of resistance. I read that the specified resistance for this thing is 3010. Can I just use a 3k Ohm resisitor? Or does it have to be exactly a 3010?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Never tried a VATS bypass but think you'll be fine. Talk to radio shack when purchasing. http://shbox.com/1/4th_gen_tech2.html#pass_key

  3. #3
    CrapMaster samson_420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Coolidge AZ
    Posts
    167
    Thanks, that link has what I was looking for.

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    you want to get as close to 3010 as possible. It may take 2 resistors in series to get it but get as close as possible. Be sure to use gold band resistors also. They have a 5% variation while the silver banded resistors are 10%.

  5. #5
    tattoo artist,esquire sic2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Huntington Beach, California
    Age
    48
    Posts
    416

    navy blue metallic
    2001 trans am

    add a 10 in line to the other, thats what I had to do andits worked like a charm for2 yrs now.

  6. #6
    CrapMaster samson_420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Coolidge AZ
    Posts
    167
    3k worked just fine

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by samson_420 View Post
    3k worked just fine
    It's not that it won't work....it's that the variation of the resistor could fall out of range and it might not work everytime. Good luck.

  8. #8
    CrapMaster samson_420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Coolidge AZ
    Posts
    167
    Well, the specs are 2890 to 3150. That is a pretty large margin of error. So I think it will be ok. Maybe. . . . . .

  9. #9
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    you'll probably be fine. If it does it again you'll at least know what the fix is.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to Bypass your VATS
    By SandmanWs7 in forum General Help
    Replies: 372
    Last Post: 11-16-2016, 04:31 PM
  2. Vats bypass????
    By red4thgen in forum LT1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2015, 03:39 AM
  3. Help With Vats Bypass
    By fasted in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 03:53 AM
  4. vats bypass
    By formy01 in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 06:51 AM
  5. doing the vats bypass on my car
    By 0rion in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2006, 08:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •