Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Pewter
    2001 Trans Am

Traction... Whats that? Never heard of it

So its pretty common knowledge that I am a performance car noob. I've always just had average used cars and never really knew much about them. Always wanted a real performance car so I got an 01 TA. I know most of the basics i've always changed my own oil done minor maintenance like rotate tires replace stuff i had an instruction manual or online walkthrough on how to replace.

Im really having a hard time getting any traction on my car, It had a lot of work done to it when I bought it and I'm not entirely sure what all its had. What I am fairly certain of is that it was lowered I took some pics and posted them here before and asked everyone seemed to agree that it had been in fact lowered. What I dont know is if when whoever lowered it did so if they made correct adjustments to the suspension, as I assume that pretty important, like new shocks and such.

Ive got khumo tires on it now that came when i got the car and they dont hook worth a damn. They are the Ecsta supra tire that they dont make anymore on stock rims. They still have good tread on them because once i start smoking them every time i get on them i just let off and roll off like a grandpa.

I often wonder if the problem is with the suspension rather than the tire. Could be completely wrong with both. Where would be a good place to start? If i get some pics would that help? I could lift the car and get some underbody pics if necessary. I really just need some help on where to get started because I'm getting blown away by civics because I cant go anywhere. I can just smoke the tires at 70mph if i floor it.

BTW its an auto not a manual.

515 HP TrickFlow Package BADASS2000SS's Avatar

440 RWHP / 410 TQ
    2000 SLP CAMARO SS

How about...dont floor it!