Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
Like Tree1Likes

TPS voltage

This is a discussion on TPS voltage within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; How do you set the voltage for.the TPS? I just got a new TB and it says I need to. ...

  1. #1
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    TPS voltage

    How do you set the voltage for.the TPS? I just got a new TB and it says I need to. Also the TPS sensor broke on it, the TB is a ls2 style TB so should any ls2 TPS sensor work on it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Normally, you unplug it, turn the key on ( with-out starting it ) for 10 seconds, turn the key off, plug it back in, your done. That resets the zero point for the idle control circuit.

  3. #3
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    Normally, you unplug it, turn the key on ( with-out starting it ) for 10 seconds, turn the key off, plug it back in, your done. That resets the zero point for the idle control circuit.
    The directions that came with it says I have to adjust the voltage with a screw that just doesn't seem right. I'll try what you said when I get a new sensor.

  4. #4
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Does your stock TPS fit ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    I have a 4bb TB that uses the stock TPS. That's why I ask.

  6. #6
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    I have a 4bb TB that uses the stock TPS. That's why I ask.
    No it does not. I have the professional products 101mm TB it's a ls2 style. I need a new sensor though but I don't know what will fit.

  7. #7
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    I tried researching it, but couldn't find any tps info on it... Pretty Wild looking TB though !

  8. #8
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    I tried researching it, but couldn't find any tps info on it... Pretty Wild looking TB though !
    The reason I am asking this is I just did a intake and TB swap and the car won't stay started. It revs up to 5k and shuts off and throws the code for the tps. The directions I got with the TB says you need to put the key in the on position and check the voltage and it should be 0.5 volts at idle and 4.5 at WOT. Then it says to check the voltage and adjust it with the adjustment screw and recheck it. I need a new Tps now since the other one fell apart.

  9. #9
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    Using HP Tuners ? You can scan with the key on, to test the TPS ( 0% - 100% )
    Of coarse when you find another one...

  10. #10
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    Using HP Tuners ? You can scan with the key on, to test the TPS ( 0% - 100% )
    Of coarse when you find another one...
    I don't have a HP tuner. Just a code diagnostic tool.

  11. #11
    Senior Member bills98ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Thomas, PA
    Posts
    5,047

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    You will need a tune once you get it working. The air flow will differ, causing the ve tables to be inaccurate. Guess you would be close to Frost.

  12. #12
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by bills98ta View Post
    You will need a tune once you get it working. The air flow will differ, causing the ve tables to be inaccurate. Guess you would be close to Frost.
    Yeah I am going to see frost once it's up and running, going to get a SD tune. I am about 2 hours from frost.

  13. #13
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    There might be a screw on the idle bump stop that the throttle arm rests on. screw that in and out while monitoring the TPS volts

  14. #14
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    There might be a screw on the idle bump stop that the throttle arm rests on. screw that in and out while monitoring the TPS volts
    I know the screw I have to adjust it's just directions tell me what the voltage needs to be at idle and wot but it tells me not to start the car, just doesn't make sense. Also how do I measure the voltage with a voltage meter? Like where do I put the connectors to?

  15. #15
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    Yes, do not start the engine while doing this. Just turn the key on (engine off). Then you can measure the voltage.

    Here's a thread that might help you some. How do I check my TPS?

  16. #16
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    Yes, do not start the engine while doing this. Just turn the key on (engine off). Then you can measure the voltage.

    Here's a thread that might help you some. How do I check my TPS?
    That did help a bit but I have a couple questions how exactly do I check the voltage, I have never used a volt meter before. Should a standard ls2 tps work on my TB?

  17. #17
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    I think LS2 tb are drive by wire. Your "LS2" TB looks like its been converted for cable drive.
    But I think all the TPS's are the same so just I would think your LS1 sensor should fit. If not, call pro products and ask them which one to get

  18. #18
    Moderator Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    6,996

    1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

    To measure the voltage, you need to backprobe the connector while its connected to the TPS. I use a T-pin for this. You can get T-pins in the sewing sections of stores like Walmart or Target maybe. Or any sewing store. Here's a pic of a T-pin and how to back probe a connector..





    Push the pin in until it contacts the terminal inside the connector.

  19. #19
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    To measure the voltage, you need to backprobe the connector while its connected to the TPS. I use a T-pin for this. You can get T-pins in the sewing sections of stores like Walmart or Target maybe. Or any sewing store. Here's a pic of a T-pin and how to back probe a connector..

    Click for full size

    Click for full size

    Push the pin in until it contacts the terminal inside the connector.
    Then do what exactly with the volt meter? Touch the pond to the t pin to measure the voltage?

  20. #20
    Waiting on the Tree transamtom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Niagara Falls Ont.Canada
    Posts
    927

    NBM
    1999 TA A4

    Positive to the yellow,negative to any good ground or back probe the other side.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Low Voltage, Why?
    By Z28boy2000 in forum General Help
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 02-27-2014, 06:17 PM
  2. Low Voltage
    By adamz02ss in forum General Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 04:22 PM
  3. Low voltage
    By Art99SS in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 04:34 PM
  4. voltage
    By tingo99 in forum Internal Engine
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 06:47 AM
  5. voltage problem
    By firebirdlt4 in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-13-2008, 04:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •