Results 1 to 5 of 5

Throttle body cable no idle

This is a discussion on Throttle body cable no idle within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have a 98 Camaro and after a cam swap my lifters collapsed (which have been replaced). I recently installed ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    2

    Throttle body cable no idle

    I have a 98 Camaro and after a cam swap my lifters collapsed (which have been replaced). I recently installed long tubes and now the car won't idle at all unless I hold the pedal down. I noticed where the throttle body cable are that unless I'm holding the pedal down it doesn't move. I was told when the car starts it should move a tiny bit opening so my car idles around 2k rpm. If I tighten the cable will this fix the problem? Also how do I tighten the cable?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    what cam and I'm going to guess no tune? That's not really how the idle air works....the iac valve controls the idle air. You can flip and adjust the set screw for the TB blade to get more air in there but you don't want to adjust it a bunch. My memory is terrible these days but I want to say you don't want to go over 550mv and then you'll need to do an idle relearn by unplugging the iac and turning the car to run but not start then back off then plug it back in and do the same thing. After that start the car up and let it idle with ac off for a few minutes then with the ac on for a few minutes.

    Really you just need to get the car tuned as that's 100% what the issue is. You can however stop keep the car from dying by adjusting that set screw until you get a tune. Depending on what cam you have there's a lot of tables that need adjusted for it so just getting it to idle is really only meant to get the car to a tuner.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mean Green Z28 View Post
    Don't worry about understanding women. Women understand women, and they hate each other

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    2
    I already have a dyno tune done. I have a 233/239 cam. Tune was done but then lifters collapsed and I installed long tubes and removed the cats. So I haven't had a tune since then. Still the original tune should be enough to at least idle the car

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    yeah....you have an issue somewhere. Did it idle fine before the work? A retune for the headers is needed but it won't cause the issues you're having now. I would suspect something didn't go back together properly. Check all the hoses and intake for leaks. Is the idle bad cold and hot?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Any codes popping up?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Throttle body 1 cable 2 cables ??????
    By Durango in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 08:26 PM
  2. 90 92 mm Throttle Body TB cable driven
    By MnLS1 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 05:43 PM
  3. Question: Cable operated throttle body
    By 09 Truggy in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 04:14 PM
  4. throttle body cable??
    By 1TA LS1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 09:45 AM
  5. Dual Cable Throttle Body
    By 9t8z28 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •