Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Is there water in my motor? Struggles above 4000 rpm.

This is a discussion on Is there water in my motor? Struggles above 4000 rpm. within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I just read thru all the advice, and I agree it sounds like you got a coil pack/wire connection wet. ...

Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

I just read thru all the advice, and I agree it sounds like you got a coil pack/wire connection wet. Normally they will dry ok, but sometimes if something was about to go bad, the water helped it to fail.

And I've been an ASE Master/L1 certified tech for a long time, I can tell you that "mechanic" who said water gets into the cylinder and the only way to get rid of it is to take the heads off, has no clue. He nees some edumacation.

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Quote Originally Posted by Too Fast View Post
    I just read thru all the advice, and I agree it sounds like you got a coil pack/wire connection wet. Normally they will dry ok, but sometimes if something was about to go bad, the water helped it to fail.

And I've been an ASE Master/L1 certified tech for a long time, I can tell you that "mechanic" who said water gets into the cylinder and the only way to get rid of it is to take the heads off, has no clue. He nees some edumacation.
    :this:

The "mechanic" was trying to rip this person off imho..

Cayanne
    98 Z28 Vert M6

Quote Originally Posted by Smittro View Post
    :this:

The "mechanic" was trying to rip this person off imho..
    This is why I always check with fellow enthusiasts/owners before I pay anyone to touch my car. My last car I had serviced at the dealer and they would sabotage something each time they "fixed" my original problem. No more "reputable" shops for this guy... at least not for simple things that can be fixed with a wrench.

Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

Quote Originally Posted by Naaman View Post