Results 1 to 11 of 11

Temp Gauge

This is a discussion on Temp Gauge within the General Help forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; We have all heard about how our heat gauge and even our oil pressure gauges are inaccurate to say the ...

  1. #1
    Member Bouvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    857

    Blue 1997 Trans Am(Sold)
    Pewter 2001 Trans Am Vert

    Temp Gauge

    We have all heard about how our heat gauge and even our oil pressure gauges are inaccurate to say the least.

    I would like to have a more accurate read out, however I sure as hell don't want to have a clusterfuck of gauges in my interior ESPECIALLY if I have the same gauges on my dash just seems too damn ricer to me.

    So my question is there any way to make your OEM gauges more accurate? that would be a much better route for me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,725
    Not that I've ever heard of, people have been trying on the temp gauge for years.

  3. #3
    Member squee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Age
    27
    Posts
    952

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

    Its not rice if they actually serve a purpose...

  4. #4
    Slow'er'Ass Mr. Luos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Thornton, CO
    Posts
    23,785

    Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

    I am a ricer.


    My aftermarket temp. gauge shows an average of 20 degrees different than the one in-dash.

  5. #5
    Member Bouvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    857

    Blue 1997 Trans Am(Sold)
    Pewter 2001 Trans Am Vert

    Quote Originally Posted by squee View Post
    Its not rice if they actually serve a purpose...
    I'm with you on that, but I really don't want another temp gauge in my car... so is the answer a no...

  6. #6
    Member squee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Age
    27
    Posts
    952

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Bouvs View Post
    I'm with you on that, but I really don't want another temp gauge in my car... so is the answer a no...
    Then your SOL. I'd rather had 2 temp gauges in my car then have a waterpump go bad and not know.

  7. #7
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    Quote Originally Posted by Bouvs View Post
    We have all heard about how our heat gauge and even our oil pressure gauges are inaccurate to say the least.

    I would like to have a more accurate read out, however I sure as hell don't want to have a clusterfuck of gauges in my interior ESPECIALLY if I have the same gauges on my dash just seems too damn ricer to me.

    So my question is there any way to make your OEM gauges more accurate? that would be a much better route for me.
    add the pillar gauges, then have TSS make you a cover for the indash area.... problem solved.

  8. #8
    Member squee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Age
    27
    Posts
    952

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

    Or you could get one of those plates (can't remember who makes/made it) that lets you use all aftermarket gauges in place of the factory shit. Probably be a bitch to wire up though...

  9. #9
    Member Bouvers's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    857

    Blue 1997 Trans Am(Sold)
    Pewter 2001 Trans Am Vert

    now that is what I'm interested in... any links?

  10. #10
    Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    TEXAS... U mad?
    Posts
    6,158

    Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

    Quote Originally Posted by Bouvs View Post
    now that is what I'm interested in... any links?


    As for prefab, I don't know that anyone makes a plug and play....
    I meant doing after market gauges (pillar, vent, wherever) then have TSS (LS1 member: Third Shift Studios) to make you a custom plate (info or phienox or whatever), then just remove the factory needle, and apply the emblem over to make it look seemless. If interested, shoot TSS a pm. He is sure to fix you up.

  11. #11
    Member squee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Age
    27
    Posts
    952

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Bouvs View Post
    now that is what I'm interested in... any links?
    Sorry, I can't find it again. It was on Tech though I believe. All it was though was a plate that came precut to fit standard size gauges like autometers or whatnot. If it was a plug and play it would be nice, but I bet the wiring is a bitch to do.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Oem temp gauge
    By cruzincamaro in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 10:00 PM
  2. Want to trade Tranny Temp gauge for Oil pressure gauge.
    By jrbonds in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 09:47 AM
  3. temp gauge
    By Darkrider02 in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 06:02 PM
  4. Hooking up Oil pressure gauge,and Temp Gauge
    By BirdFlewLS1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2008, 07:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •